Journal profile · SPORT SCIENCES

Journal of Dance Medicine & Science

ISSN 1089-313X · eISSN 2374-8060 · J.Michael Ryan Publishing Inc.

Journal of Dance Medicine & Science: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.5 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 216 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 49% (journal website); 59 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.5From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time216 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,650Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance49%From the journal's website
Articles per year592025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is published by J.Michael Ryan Publishing Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diversity and Impact of Dance, Sports injuries and prevention and Winter Sports Injuries and Performance, together about 47% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Dance Medicine & Science (JDMS) is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that has an international editorial board and is the official publication of the International Association for Dance Medicine & Science (IADMS). Each issue focuses on providing readers with a source for up-to-date information about clinical and experimental research in dance medicine and science. Featured articles are drawn from the fields of Anatomy and Physiology; Biomechanics; General Medicine; Sports Medicine and Surgery; Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Physical Therapy; Dance Education; Kinesiology; Psychology; and Nutrition and Diet. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): SPORT SCIENCES

Editor-in-chief Jatin P. AmbegaonkarPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 11, United Kingdom 8, Australia 3, Netherlands 3, Switzerland 2 (31 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Diversity and Impact of DancePsychology28.8%
  2. Sports injuries and preventionMedicine10.6%
  3. Winter Sports Injuries and PerformanceMedicine7.6%
  4. Musicians’ Health and PerformanceMedicine6.9%
  5. Sport Psychology and PerformancePsychology4.8%
  6. Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering4.8%
  7. Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine3.5%
  8. Human Motion and AnimationEngineering3.1%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorSport SciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorSport SciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
1.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.57LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.87LetPub ·
h-index
48OpenAlex ·
i10-index
309OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.15OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
26.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
14.81%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
58LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 982 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202659216
2025591060
20244319119
20234028256
2022284122
2021395283

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

216 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
49%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
3 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
67 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
216 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
45 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,650 / GBP 2,676——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Colour charges
No colour charges
Other fees
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
Page charges
No page charges
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare10 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 300 words
Keywords
≥ 3
Manuscript length
≤ 4,000 words
Reference style
AMA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Not considered
preprints
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted5, with length limits
  1. original researchOriginal Research (Quantitative) Maximum Word Count: 4000 words (excluding Title, Abstract, Acknowledgments, Tables, and Figures) Abstract: The structured abstr…main text ≤ 4,000 words
  2. original research (qualitative)Maximum Word Count: 4000 words (excluding Title, Abstract, Acknowledgments, Tables, and Figures)Length not stated
  3. original research (quantitative)Maximum Word Count: 4000 words (excluding Title, Abstract, Acknowledgments, Tables, and Figures)Length not stated
  4. perspectiveOriginal Research (Quantitative) Maximum Word Count: 4000 words (excluding Title, Abstract, Acknowledgments, Tables, and Figures) Abstract: The structured abstr…Length not stated
  5. reviewOriginal Research (Quantitative) Maximum Word Count: 4000 words (excluding Title, Abstract, Acknowledgments, Tables, and Figures) Abstract: The structured abstr…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. Open Access agreement …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Identity transparency: Double anonymized Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
J.Michael Ryan Publishing Inc.
ISSN
1089-313X
Electronic ISSN
2374-8060
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Dance Medicine & Science

What CAS zone is Journal of Dance Medicine & Science in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Sport Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Dance Medicine & Science?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 48.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Dance Medicine & Science?

The publisher reports about 216 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 49%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Dance Medicine & Science?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: AMA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Dance Medicine & Science based?

Of the 31 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), United Kingdom (8) and Australia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Dance Medicine & Science?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Journal of Dance Medicine & Science open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Dance Medicine & Science is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-28). Last updated: .