Journal profile · Surgery
Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery
ISSN 1010-5182 · eISSN 1878-4119 · Churchill Livingstone · SCOTLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1987
Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.11; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,784; median 119 days to acceptance (106 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 308 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Facial Trauma and Fracture Management, Cleft Lip and Palate Research and Craniofacial Disorders and Treatments, together about 27.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery and Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official publication of European Association for Cranio-Maxillofacial SurgeryThe Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery publishes articles covering all aspects of surgery of the head, face and jaw. Specific topics covered recently have included:Distraction osteogenesisSynthetic bone substitutes Fibroblast growth factors Fetal wound healing Skull base surgery Computer-assisted surgery Vascularized bone grafts
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Surgery
Editor-in-chief Jörg WiltfangPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Germany 12, Greece 7, Italy 6, United States 5, United Kingdom 4 (55 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine10.9%
- Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology8.5%
- Craniofacial Disorders and TreatmentsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.8%
- Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry7.6%
- Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular TechniquesMedicine5.8%
- Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions5.5%
- Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry5.5%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.11LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.25LetPub ·
- h-index
- 67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 123OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,664OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.5OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 26.88%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 289LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 11,636 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2,774 | 2,347 | 67 |
| 2025 | 308 | 103 | 619 |
| 2024 | 243 | 87 | 965 |
| 2023 | 170 | 44 | 941 |
| 2022 | 110 | 20 | 731 |
| 2021 | 208 | 51 | 2,541 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
119 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 64 days – 172 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (106 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 147 days
- Sample
- 106 articles with submission and acceptance dates (544 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 25%Publisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 40 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 112 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 18 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,784 / EUR 3,540 / GBP 3,030 / JPY 469,330 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,168 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Reference style
- Author–date
Article types accepted6
- case reportThe following contributions will be considered for publication:• Original articles• Systematic Reviews• Case reports of special interestLength not stated
- case reports of special interest• Case reports of special interestLength not stated
- original articleThe following contributions will be considered for publication:• Original articles• Systematic Reviews• Case reports of special interestLength not stated
- original articles• Original articlesLength not stated
- systematic reviewThe following contributions will be considered for publication:• Original articles• Systematic Reviews• Case reports of special interestLength not stated
- systematic reviews• Systematic ReviewsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Author contributions
For transparency, we encourage corresponding authors to provide co-author contributions to the manuscript using the relevant CRediT roles. The CRediT taxonomy includes 14 different roles describing each contributor's specific contribution to the scholarly output. The roles are: Conceptualization; Data curation; Formal analysis; Funding acquisition; Investigation; Methodology; Project administratio…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Churchill Livingstone
- Country or region
- SCOTLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1987
- ISSN
- 1010-5182
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-4119
- Society / sponsor
- European Association for Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery
What CAS zone is Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.11; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 123.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 106 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 119 days (interquartile range 64–172 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 25%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 3; Reference style: Author–date. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery based?
Of the 55 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Germany (12), Greece (7) and Italy (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,784.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .