Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy
ISSN 2326-7178 · Taylor & Francis
Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy: subscription journal; APC about USD 3,250; review about 76 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 21% (journal website); 16 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy is published by Taylor & Francis. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Counseling Practices and Supervision, Teacher Education and Leadership Studies and Social Work Education and Practice, together about 65.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Social Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Counselor Leadership & Advocacy (JCLA), a publication of Chi Sigma Iota Counseling Academic and Professional Honor Society International, provides professional counselors, counselor educators, and counseling students with research and evidence-based recommendations in topics that promote scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership, advocacy, and excellence in counseling. Through high-quality research, scholarship, and professional dialogue, the primary purposes of this peer-reviewed journal are to promote the development of leaders to serve in diverse counseling settings, bring awareness to professional and client advocacy initiatives, and provide a forum for discussing professional issues. JCLA welcomes empirical, theoretical, and conceptual manuscripts focused on leadership, professional and client advocacy, and professional identity for counselors, counseling students, and counselor educators. Because evidence-based practice is at the heart of the counseling profession, JCLA will occasionally publish exemplary scholarship related to evidence-based practice in counseling practice, supervision, and education. JCLA is focused on promoting leadership and advocacy in all professional counseling settings and specialties (e.g., counselor education, school counseling, clinical counseling, and rehabilitation counseling). JCLA will publish articles in five categories:
· Leadership development – Research and conceptual/theoretical articles that address leadership development within counseling practice, supervision, or education.
· Professional advocacy – Research and conceptual/theoretical articles that address professional advocacy within counseling practice, supervision, or education.
· Client advocacy – Research and conceptual/theoretical articles that address client advocacy within counseling practice, supervision, or education.
· Professional counselor identity – Research and conceptual/theoretical articles that address issues related to professional identity and professional identity development within counseling practice, wellness, supervision, or education.
· Evidence-based practice – Original research and grounded literature reviews that may advance the profession via exemplary evidence-based practice in counseling, supervision, or education. JCLA will publish four major types of articles with a primary focus on the first two types:
· Research articles – original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed method research up to 30 pages in l
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Counseling Practices and SupervisionPsychology39.6%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences15.4%
- Social Work Education and PracticeSocial Sciences10.2%
- Doctoral Education Challenges and SolutionsHealth Professions5.5%
- Career Development and DiversitySocial Sciences2.2%
- Educational Leadership and PracticesSocial Sciences2%
- Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology1.7%
- Racial and Ethnic Identity ResearchSocial Sciences1.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q2 | 724/1698 | — |
| Clinical Psychology | Q3 | 159/314 | — |
| Psychiatry and Mental Health | Q3 | 334/580 | — |
| Applied Psychology | Q3 | 151/258 | — |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
OCLC, ACER Educational Research Abstracts Online (ERA), OCLC -Article First, -Electronic Collections Online, -WorldCat, Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts Database (CSWA)Publisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.64Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.08LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 1.08Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 21OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 63OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.08OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 37,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 184 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 1 | 164 |
| 2025 | 16 | 2 | 267 |
| 2024 | 13 | 1 | 220 |
| 2023 | 18 | 2 | 280 |
| 2022 | 11 | 0 | 181 |
| 2021 | 12 | 0 | 133 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
76 daysfirst decision after review
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 21%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 67 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 76 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | USD 3,250 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- research articlesResearch articles – original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed method research up to 30 pages in length including all references and tables.Length not stated
- research briefsResearch briefs – brief summaries regarding original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods research up to 15 pages in length including all references and …Length not stated
- special featuresSpecial features – Editorial comments, profiles, or media reviews solicited by editor on case-by-case basis; at no time will special features comprise more than…Length not stated
- theoretical/conceptual articlesTheoretical/conceptual articles – theoretical or conceptual pieces, founded upon on evidence-based practice up to 25 pages in length including all references an…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer review policy Model summary
Manuscript submissions are subject to intial appraisal by the Editor, and, if found suitable for further consideration, to peer review by independent, anonymous expert referees.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 2326-7178
- Print ISSN
- 2326-716X
- Society / sponsor
- Chi Sigma Iota Counseling Academic & Professional Honor Society International
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 13, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy
How long does peer review take at Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy?
The publisher reports about 76 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 21%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy is indexed in Scopus.
Is Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Counselor Leadership and Advocacy is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,250.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .