Journal profile · PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH
Journal of Correctional Health Care
ISSN 1078-3458 · eISSN 1940-5200 · SAGE
Journal of Correctional Health Care: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.78; subscription journal; APC about USD 800; 52 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Correctional Health Care is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Criminal Justice and Corrections Analysis, Homelessness and Social Issues and Psychopathy, Forensic Psychiatry, Sexual Offending, together about 47.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
This national, peer-reviewed scientific journal focuses on the complex and evolving field of correctional health care. Targeting clinicians, allied health practitioners and administrators, it is the primary resource for the latest research and developments in clinical care for chronic and infectious disease, mental health care, substance use … | View full journal description
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH
Editor-in-chief Alysse WurcelPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 22 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Criminal Justice and Corrections AnalysisSocial Sciences29.1%
- Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions12.6%
- Psychopathy, Forensic Psychiatry, Sexual OffendingPsychology6.1%
- Healthcare Decision-Making and RestraintsPsychology5.5%
- HIV, Drug Use, Sexual RiskMedicine4.5%
- Child Abuse and TraumaPsychology3.6%
- HIV/AIDS Research and InterventionsMedicine3.5%
- Medical Malpractice and Liability IssuesHealth Professions3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.78LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.45LetPub ·
- h-index
- 44OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 308OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.16OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 2.08%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 42LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,167 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 49 | 10 | 10 |
| 2025 | 52 | 19 | 46 |
| 2024 | 59 | 22 | 130 |
| 2023 | 64 | 26 | 162 |
| 2022 | 69 | 15 | 271 |
| 2021 | 60 | 36 | 302 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | USD 800 / USD 200 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- USD 800
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- best practicesBest Practices Purpose: To describe implemented or implementable practices in correctional health care that are informed by experience and evidence and are inte…Length not stated
- case studyCase Study Describe actual interventions or experiences. 3,500 - 4,000 word limit Unstructured abstract with 200 word maxLength not stated
- literature reviewResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- opinionResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…Length not stated
- perspectiveResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…Length not stated
- research paperResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…Length not stated
- reviewResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…Length not stated
- viewpointResearch Paper Research Paper- Report on any type of research undertaken by the author(s). Usually includes introduction, methods, results, discussion, and conc…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
As part of our commitment to ensuring an ethical, transparent and fair peer review and publication process, this journal has adopted CRediT (Contributor Roles Taxonomy). CRediT is a high-level taxonomy, including 14 roles, which is used to describe each author’s individual contributions to the work. You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
CCPA privacy opt-out link Model summary
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: $800 for the first color figure and $200 for each color figure thereafter. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymizedReviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 1078-3458
- Electronic ISSN
- 1940-5200
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Correctional Health Care
What CAS zone is Journal of Correctional Health Care in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Correctional Health Care is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Public, Environmental & Occupational Health. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Correctional Health Care?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.78; CiteScore 1.6, h-index 44.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Correctional Health Care?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Correctional Health Care based?
Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (22). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Correctional Health Care?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Correctional Health Care is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Correctional Health Care open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Correctional Health Care is a subscription journal. APC about USD 800.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .