Journal profile · RELIGION
Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies
ISSN 2305-5545 · eISSN 2523-1715 · Qatar University Press · Qatar
Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies: CAS Zone 4 · Philosophy (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 36 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies is published by Qatar University Press and is in Zone 4 of Philosophy in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Linguistic, Cultural, and Literary Studies, Islamic Studies and History and Legal and Regulatory Analysis, together about 41.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies (JCSIS) at Qatar University is a peer-reviewed, bilingual, open access journal. It provides a forum for quality research in multidisciplinary classical and contemporary Islamic studies in both Arabic and English from all over the world. Since 1980, JCSIS has established itself as a valuable resource both for scholars and students of Islamic Studies as well as for libraries. JCSIS encourages contributions from all branches of Islamic Studies with a view to deepening historical research on Islam, in both theory and practice, from historical and social-science perspectives since its emergence until modern times. JCSIS bridges East-West researchers and readers and presents up-to-date research.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RELIGION
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Qatar 9, United Kingdom 4, United States 1, Germany 1, Türkiye 1 (17 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Linguistic, Cultural, and Literary StudiesSocial Sciences18.2%
- Islamic Studies and HistorySocial Sciences12.4%
- Legal and Regulatory AnalysisSocial Sciences11.2%
- Military Technology and StrategiesEngineering11.2%
- Education and Islamic StudiesSocial Sciences10.4%
- Islamic Finance and Banking StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting7.8%
- Families in Therapy and CulturePsychology3.4%
- Historical and Linguistic StudiesSocial Sciences3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Philosophy Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Religion | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Philosophy Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Religion | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.16LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.95LetPub ·
- h-index
- 5OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.24OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 25%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 96%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 22LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 386 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 32 | 32 | 4 |
| 2025 | 36 | 36 | 11 |
| 2024 | 26 | 26 | 8 |
| 2023 | 12 | 12 | 7 |
| 2022 | 44 | 44 | 64 |
| 2021 | 44 | 44 | 42 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 24 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≤ 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 9,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted3, with length limits
- articleIt is strongly advised that the length of the article should not exceed 9000 words.Length not stated
- book reviewe article should not exceed 9000 words. Book reviews and conference reports must not exceed 1500 words. All pages should be numbered consecutively. Arabic - Num…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- conference reportBook reviews and conference reports must not exceed 1500 words.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Authorship
Originality policy Model summary
The papers will be held to imply that it contains original unpublished work and is not being submitted for publication elsewhere.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Open access policy Model summary
This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies, 2008-2017, ISSN 2523-1715 (Online), ISSN 2305-5545 (Print) Design by the College of Sharia and Islamic Studies, Qatar University
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer review policy Model summary
Manuscripts are evaluated by anonymous peer review, therefore, authors must remove all identifying information from their texts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism All submissions are screened by iThenticate: Plagiarism Detection Software.
Follow us through the Web of Science on MyRA App (available in both Apple and Google Play app stores)
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Qatar University Press
- Country or region
- Qatar
- Language
- English, Arabic
- ISSN
- 2305-5545
- Electronic ISSN
- 2523-1715
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies
What CAS zone is Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies is in Zone 4 of Philosophy, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Religion. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Philosophy. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies?
Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≤ 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 9,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies based?
Of the 17 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Qatar (9), United Kingdom (4) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of College of Sharia and Islamic Studies is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .