Journal profile · Medicine-Infectious Diseases
Journal of Clinical Virology Plus
ISSN 2667-0380 · Elsevier · United Kingdom
Journal of Clinical Virology Plus: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.1 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,690; review about 129 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 38 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Clinical Virology Plus is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Research, SARS-CoV-2 detection and testing and COVID-19 Clinical Research Studies, together about 43.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Clinical Virology Plus is an open access journal, aims to disseminate new knowledge concerning any aspects of human virology that directly pertain to virus-induced clinical condition. It publishes original articles and reviews on understanding or manipulation of virus-induced disease state, epidemiology, diagnostics and vaccines. Case reports will not be considered.The journal publishes topics including:epidemiological studies or cohorts linked to virus evolution use of antiviral agents associated with viral disease identification of viral agents from humans with the etiology of viral disease novel diagnostic methods related to virus detection or viral disease development of tools for diagnostic assay development studies that compare diagnostic assay performance vaccine function, formulations and viral vectors associated with immune responses
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Infectious Diseases
Editor-in-chief Petri SusiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 5 in mainland China (about 18%); most named Mainland China 5, United Kingdom 5, India 4, United States 2, Italy 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 ResearchMedicine17.8%
- SARS-CoV-2 detection and testingMedicine14.5%
- COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine10.8%
- Respiratory viral infections researchMedicine6.6%
- Hepatitis B Virus StudiesMedicine5.5%
- Hepatitis C virus researchMedicine4.6%
- Biosensors and Analytical DetectionEngineering4.6%
- Mosquito-borne diseases and controlMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Infectious Diseases | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Virology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Infectious Diseases | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Virology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.36LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.43LetPub ·
- h-index
- 13OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 30OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 32LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 252 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 27 | 27 | 3 |
| 2025 | 38 | 38 | 40 |
| 2024 | 26 | 26 | 48 |
| 2023 | 40 | 40 | 144 |
| 2022 | 70 | 70 | 333 |
| 2021 | 51 | 51 | 424 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
129 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 10 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 78 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 129 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,690 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,320 / EUR 2,170 / GBP 1,860 / JPY 287,750 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,770 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Not considered
- Case reports
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- correspondenceFull length articles (2500 word limit)Short communications (1250 word limit)Correspondence (500 word limit)Review articles (3000 word limit). Structured abstrac…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- full length articlesFull length articles (2500 word limit)Length not stated
- reviewFull length articles (2500 word limit)Short communications (1250 word limit)Correspondence (500 word limit)Review articles (3000 word limit). Structured abstrac…Length not stated
- review articleFull length articles (2500 word limit)Short communications (1250 word limit)Correspondence (500 word limit)Review articles (3000 word limit). Structured abstrac…Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles (3000 word limit)Length not stated
- short communicationFull length articles (2500 word limit)Short communications (1250 word limit)Correspondence (500 word limit)Review articles (3000 word limit). Structured abstrac…main text ≤ 1,250 words
- short communicationsShort communications (1250 word limit)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Follow Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-0380
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Clinical Virology Plus
What CAS zone is Journal of Clinical Virology Plus in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Clinical Virology Plus is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Infectious Diseases / Virology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Clinical Virology Plus?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.1; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 13.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Clinical Virology Plus?
The publisher reports about 129 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Clinical Virology Plus?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Clinical Virology Plus based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 5 (about 18%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (5), United Kingdom (5) and India (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Clinical Virology Plus?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Clinical Virology Plus is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Journal of Clinical Virology Plus open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Clinical Virology Plus is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,690.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .