Journal profile · Nursing
Journal of Clinical Nursing
ISSN 0962-1067 · eISSN 1365-2702 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · ENGLAND · Semimonthly
Journal of Clinical Nursing: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.51; hybrid open access; APC about USD 5,450; median 111 days to acceptance (109 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 444 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Clinical Nursing is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nursing education and management, Family and Patient Care in Intensive Care Units and Palliative Care and End-of-Life Issues, together about 28.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Clinical Nursing publishes research and developments relevant to all areas of nursing practice- community, geriatric, mental health, pediatric & more.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nursing
Editor-in-chief Mark HayterPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United Kingdom 15, United States 10, Australia 9, Hong Kong, China 4, Türkiye 3 (60 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nursing education and managementNursing13.6%
- Family and Patient Care in Intensive Care UnitsHealth Professions8.4%
- Palliative Care and End-of-Life IssuesMedicine6.2%
- Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions6.2%
- Intensive Care Unit Cognitive DisordersMedicine4.9%
- Nursing Roles and PracticesHealth Professions4.9%
- Cancer survivorship and careMedicine4.1%
- Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedPsycINFOCINAHLCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.51LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 8.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.84LetPub ·
- h-index
- 87LetPub ·
- h-index
- 174OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 7,066OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.55OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 43.67%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 329LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 419Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 3,553,835Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 11,731 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 377 | 258 | 94 |
| 2025 | 444 | 248 | 1,250 |
| 2024 | 595 | 381 | 3,689 |
| 2023 | 389 | 288 | 4,865 |
| 2022 | 436 | 222 | 7,414 |
| 2021 | 568 | 230 | 14,676 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
111 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 58 days – 154 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (109 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 125 days
- Sample
- 109 articles with submission and acceptance dates (969 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 105 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer review, Open peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 5,450 / EUR 4,550 / GBP 3,630 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≤ 10
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Optional
Article types accepted3
- editorialCarefully review the types of articles the Journal considers for publication in the chart below and all of the guidelines included throughout. You will be asked…Length not stated
- reviewCarefully review the types of articles the Journal considers for publication in the chart below and all of the guidelines included throughout. You will be asked…Length not stated
- systematic reviewProspectively registered in PROSPERO or other recognized registry such as JBI if reporting a health outcome. This registration to be confirmed in the submission…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Correction to authorship
In accordance with Wiley’s Best Practice Guidelines on Research Integrity and Publishing Ethics and the Committee on Publication Ethics’ guidance, Journal of Clinical Nursing will allow authors to correct authorship on a submitted, accepted, or published article if a valid reason exists to do so. All authors – including those to be added or removed – must agree to any proposed change. To request a…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest
APA reference style Model summary
This journal uses American Psychological Association (APA) Reference Style
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright & Licensing
You may choose to publish under the terms of the journal’s standard copyright agreement, or Open Access under the terms of a Creative Commons License.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access:
This is a subscription journal that offers an open access option. You’ll have the option to choose to make your article open access after acceptance, which will be subject to an Article Publication Charge (APC), unless a waiver applies. Details about the journal's APC are available here. For more general information about APCs, click here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review General Peer Review Process
Double-blind peer review policy Model summary
Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief and/or the editorial office determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality, relevance, and submission requirements. This journal operates under a double-blind peer review model, and Transparent Peer Review is optional. Except where otherwise stated or in special circumstances, manuscripts are peer reviewed by at least two anonymous…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy Model summary
The Journal of Clinical Nursing accepts articles previously published on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Semimonthly
- ISSN
- 0962-1067
- Electronic ISSN
- 1365-2702
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 35, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Clinical Nursing
What CAS zone is Journal of Clinical Nursing in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Clinical Nursing is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Nursing. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Clinical Nursing?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.51; CiteScore 8.8, h-index 174.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Clinical Nursing?
Based on the dates recorded on 109 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 111 days (interquartile range 58–154 days); authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 5% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Clinical Nursing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≤ 10; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Clinical Nursing based?
Of the 60 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (15), United States (10) and Australia (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Clinical Nursing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Clinical Nursing is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, PsycINFO, CINAHL and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Clinical Nursing open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Clinical Nursing is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 5,450.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .