Journal profile · Pharmacology & Pharmacy
Journal of Clinical Lipidology
ISSN 1933-2874 · eISSN 1876-4789 · Elsevier BV · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 2007
Journal of Clinical Lipidology: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 6.49; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,510; median 102 days to acceptance (114 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy (Elsevier website: 39%); 406 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Clinical Lipidology is published by Elsevier BV and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular Health, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Lipid metabolism and disorders, together about 54% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Clinical Lipidology (JCL), a journal of the National Lipid Association, is published monthly to support the diverse array of medical professionals who work to reduce the incidence of morbidity and mortality from dyslipidemia and associated disorders of lipid metabolism. The Journal's readership encompasses a broad cross-section of the medical community, including cardiologists, endocrinologists, primary care physicians, pharmacists, nurse practitioners, nurses, dietitians, and researchers, as well as those involved in the treatment of disorders such as diabetes, hypertension, obesity, metabolic syndrome, and hepatic steatosis.Because the scope of clinical lipidology is broad, the topics addressed by the Journal are equally diverse. Typical articles explore lipidology as it is practiced in the clinical setting, recent developments in pharmacological and lipid metabolism research, reports of treatment and trials, case studies, the impact of lifestyle modification, and similar academic material of interest to practitioners.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Pharmacology & Pharmacy
Editor-in-chief P. B. DuellPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 92, Canada 10, Australia 4, United Kingdom 2, Italy 2 (115 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular HealthMedicine29.5%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine17.7%
- Lipid metabolism and disordersMedicine6.9%
- Cancer, Lipids, and MetabolismBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.7%
- Cholesterol and Lipid MetabolismMedicine4.5%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance2.7%
- Fatty Acid Research and HealthNursing2.5%
- Atherosclerosis and Cardiovascular DiseasesImmunology and Microbiology2.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 6.49LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 6.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.72LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.41LetPub ·
- h-index
- 48LetPub ·
- h-index
- 100OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,188OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.11OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 23.72%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 204LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,095 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 492 | 95 | 145 |
| 2025 | 406 | 94 | 623 |
| 2024 | 253 | 59 | 1,666 |
| 2023 | 217 | 48 | 1,401 |
| 2022 | 233 | 71 | 2,258 |
| 2021 | 158 | 43 | 1,483 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
102 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 47 days – 151 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 7 days (107 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 110 days
- Sample
- 114 articles with submission and acceptance dates (555 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 39%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 45 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 99 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,510 / EUR 3,280 / GBP 2,810 / JPY 435,350 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,510 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- brief communicationOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- brief communicationsBrief Communications Brief communications may reflect new concise findings of high value, clinical implementation science, or illustrative cases with concise re…Length not stated
- case studiesCase Studies Case studies should conform to the conventional structure of Brief Abstract, Introduction, Case Presentation, Discussion, Conclusion, Patient Conse…Length not stated
- case studyOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- commentaryOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- editorialOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- editorial commentariesEditorial Commentaries All editorials by invitation only.Length not stated
- letterOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- letters to the editorOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- news and statements from the nlaNews and Statements from the NLA News and Statements from the NLA are only for the National Lipid Association (NLA) to provide content: NLA news and upcoming ev…Length not stated
- original articleOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…main text ≤ 6,000 words
- original articlesOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references.Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Articles References should be limited articles generally should range between 2000 and 6000 words, and include no more than 40 references. Abstract, ar…Length not stated
- reviewsReviews Contemporary and Historical Reviews (Solicited and Unsolicited). Review articles should contain a brief (250 words) structured abstract (see Preparation…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier BV
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 2007
- ISSN
- 1933-2874
- Electronic ISSN
- 1876-4789
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Clinical Lipidology
What CAS zone is Journal of Clinical Lipidology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Clinical Lipidology is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Clinical Lipidology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6.49; CiteScore 6.9, h-index 100.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Clinical Lipidology?
Based on the dates recorded on 114 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 102 days (interquartile range 47–151 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy (Elsevier website: 39%)”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Clinical Lipidology based?
Of the 115 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (92), Canada (10) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Clinical Lipidology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Clinical Lipidology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Journal of Clinical Lipidology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Clinical Lipidology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,510.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .