Journal profile · Medicine-Surgery
Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation
ISSN 2667-2545 · Elsevier · Netherlands
Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation: fully open access; APC about USD 1,250; review about 168 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 46 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Osteoarthritis Treatment and Mechanisms, Knee injuries and reconstruction techniques and Periodontal Regeneration and Treatments, together about 63.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery and Orthopedics and Sports Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Open Access Journal of the International Cartilage Regeneration & Joint Preservation Society (ICRS).The Journal of Cartilage & Joint Preservation will capture the best clinical, translational and basic science articles in this rapidly growing area of discovery and expertise. JCJP will publish peer-reviewed original research articles and state-of-the-art reviews, as well as techniques videos showing the applications of new findings to the care of patients in need of cartilage repair and joint preservation.Because it sits at the intersection of basic and applied research, JCJP will bring important new findings to the toolbox of all researchers and clinicians involved in cartilage repair, development, function, degeneration, transplantation and rehabilitation, and with a strong new emphasis on joint preservation, including cartilage restoration techniques such as microfracture surgery, drilling, abrasion arthroplasty, autologous chondrocyte implementation, osteochondral autograft transplantation and osteochondral allograft transplantation.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Surgery
Editor-in-chief Elizaveta KonPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United States 25, Netherlands 9, United Kingdom 8, Italy 4, Austria 4 (75 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Osteoarthritis Treatment and MechanismsMedicine27.2%
- Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine22.6%
- Periodontal Regeneration and TreatmentsMedicine13.5%
- Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering4.5%
- Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine3.3%
- Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine3.1%
- Sports injuries and preventionMedicine3%
- Hip disorders and treatmentsMedicine2.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surgery | Q2 | 237/597 | 60th |
| Orthopedics and Sports Medicine | Q3 | 171/340 | 49th |
| Rheumatology | Q3 | 44/77 | 43rd |
| Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology (miscellaneous) | Q3 | 83/144 | 42nd |
| Immunology and Allergy | Q3 | 166/234 | 29th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.62LetPub ·
- h-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 25OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.12OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 275 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 37 | 37 | 170 |
| 2025 | 46 | 46 | 253 |
| 2024 | 57 | 57 | 210 |
| 2023 | 51 | 51 | 90 |
| 2022 | 55 | 55 | 38 |
| 2021 | 29 | 29 | 8 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
168 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 7 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 7 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 168 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 61 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,250 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,250 / EUR 1,170 / GBP 1,000 / JPY 155,040 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,400 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,250 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
Article types accepted17, with length limits
- brief reportThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- case reportIn sections identified as Introduction, Case Report, and Discussion and in fewer than 1,500 words, introduce the topic, present the case, and discuss its novmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- case studyOriginal Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis, State of the Art, Technical Note with Video, Case Study, Brief Report, Invited Commenta…Length not stated
- commentaryThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- invited commentaryOriginal Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis, State of the Art, Technical Note with Video, Case Study, Brief Report, Invited Commenta…Length not stated
- letter to the editorThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- meta-analysisThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- narrative reviewThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- original researchThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- perspectiveThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- reviewThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- state of the artState of the Art (By invitation only): Award lectures, keynote addresses, and State of the Art lectures at cartilage symposia.Length not stated
- systematic reviewThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- systematic review or meta-analysisSystematic Review or Meta-Analysis: The title of the article must contain the words systematic review, meta-analysis, or both.Length not stated
- technical noteThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references. Original Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analys…Length not stated
- technical note with videoTechnical Note with Video: Educational article providing practical tutorial on technique, tools, methodologies and approaches in cartilage repair and joint pres…Length not stated
- white paperOriginal Research, Narrative Review, Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis, State of the Art, Technical Note with Video, Case Study, Brief Report, Invited Commenta…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT DISCLOSURES:
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Member of COPE. Model summary
This Journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'License Agreement' (see more information on this). Permitted third party reuse of open access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rights to reuse your work. More information.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized review process. Model summary
This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprints can be shared anywhere at any time. Model summary
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-2545
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation
How long does peer review take at Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation?
The publisher reports about 168 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 7 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation based?
Of the 75 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (25), Netherlands (9) and United Kingdom (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Cartilage Joint Preservation is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,250.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .