Journal profile · PSYCHOLOGY, APPLIED
Journal of Career Assessment
ISSN 1069-0727 · eISSN 1552-4590 · SAGE
Journal of Career Assessment: CAS Zone 2 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.24; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 136 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 9.5% (journal website); 42 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Career Assessment is published by SAGE and is in Zone 2 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Career Development and Diversity, Higher Education and Employability and Job Satisfaction and Organizational Behavior, together about 46.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Career Assessment (JCA) provides methodologically sound, empirically based studies focusing on assessment, career development, and vocational psychology. Regarding assessment, the journal covers the various techniques, tests, inventories, rating scales, interview schedules, … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PSYCHOLOGY, APPLIED
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 47, South Korea 8, Mainland China 3, Italy 3, Australia 3 (73 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Career Development and DiversitySocial Sciences26.6%
- Higher Education and EmployabilitySocial Sciences10.8%
- Job Satisfaction and Organizational BehaviorBusiness, Management and Accounting8.9%
- Education, Achievement, and GiftednessPsychology6.3%
- Grit, Self-Efficacy, and MotivationPsychology6.1%
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences5.4%
- Gender Diversity and InequalitySocial Sciences3%
- Employment and Welfare StudiesHealth Professions3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.24LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.41LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.55LetPub ·
- h-index
- 112OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 911OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.29OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 19.55%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 42LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,250 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 42 | 14 | 7 |
| 2025 | 42 | 18 | 63 |
| 2024 | 49 | 28 | 234 |
| 2023 | 42 | 14 | 518 |
| 2022 | 51 | 11 | 788 |
| 2021 | 34 | 4 | 859 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 2 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 9.5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 136 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,650 / GBP 2,676 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 800 / USD 200 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 800
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- online supplementary materials
Article types accepted2
- full-length articles reporting a single quantitative studyFull-length articles reporting a single quantitative study should be no longer than 35 pages, double-spaced, inclusive of references, tables, and figures.Length not stated
- practice innovationsPractice Innovations are articles (maximum 25 pages, excluding title page, references, tables, and figures) that highlight innovative and promising practices in…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at $800 for first color print image, $200 for each subsequent color print image. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discoun…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review type: Double anonymized. Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 1069-0727
- Electronic ISSN
- 1552-4590
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Career Assessment
What CAS zone is Journal of Career Assessment in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Career Assessment is in Zone 2 of Psychology, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Psychology, Applied. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Career Assessment?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.24; CiteScore 7, h-index 112.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Career Assessment?
The publisher reports about 136 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 9.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Career Assessment?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Career Assessment based?
Of the 73 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (47), South Korea (8) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Career Assessment?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Career Assessment is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Career Assessment open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Career Assessment is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .