Journal profile · HEMATOLOGY

Journal of Blood Medicine

ISSN 1179-2736 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

Journal of Blood Medicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,940; median 119 days to acceptance (100 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 43% (journal website); 52 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.2From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time119 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 100 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,940Fully open access
Acceptance43%From the journal's website
Articles per year522025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Blood Medicine is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Hemoglobinopathies and Related Disorders, Blood groups and transfusion and Iron Metabolism and Disorders, together about 25% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hematology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Editor-in-Chief: Martin Bluth, MD, PhD The Journal of Blood Medicine is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal publishing laboratory, experimental and clinical aspects of all topics pertaining to blood-based medicine including but not limited to: Transfusion Medicine (blood components, stem cell transplantation, apheresis, gene-based therapeutics) Blood collection, Donor issues, Transmittable diseases, and Blood banking logistics Immunohematology Artificial and alternative blood-based therapeutics Hematology including disorders/pathology related to leukocytes/immunology, red cells, platelets and hemostasis Biotechnology/nanotechnology of blood related medicine Legal aspects of blood medicine Historical perspectives Original research, short reports, reviews, case reports and commentaries are invited. The Journal of Blood Medicine will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Updated 6 August 2025

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): HEMATOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Martin BluthPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 13, Italy 5, Japan 2, Egypt 2 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Hemoglobinopathies and Related DisordersMedicine8.6%
  2. Blood groups and transfusionMedicine8.4%
  3. Iron Metabolism and DisordersMedicine8.1%
  4. Platelet Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine7.6%
  5. Hemophilia Treatment and ResearchMedicine7.5%
  6. Blood transfusion and managementMedicine7%
  7. Blood donation and transfusion practicesBusiness, Management and Accounting6.1%
  8. Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine3.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorHematologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHematologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SJR, CiteScore, Impact FactorPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.2Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
4.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.27Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.71LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.27LetPub ·
h-index
56OpenAlex ·
i10-index
329OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.7OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
98.83%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
53LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
141,347Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 752 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202657579
2025525294
20245353173
20236666688
202277771,013
20211071071,495

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

119 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 92 days – 157 days

Acceptance to online
median 15 days (100 articles)
Submission to online
median 140 days
Sample
100 articles with submission and acceptance dates (122 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
43%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
46 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,940YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,990Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
Peer review

Member of COPE Model summary

This journal is a member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-2736
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Blood Medicine

What CAS zone is Journal of Blood Medicine in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Blood Medicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Hematology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Blood Medicine?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.2 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.4, h-index 56.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Blood Medicine?

Based on the dates recorded on 100 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 119 days (interquartile range 92–157 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 43%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Blood Medicine based?

Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), Italy (5) and Japan (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Blood Medicine?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Blood Medicine is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Blood Medicine open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Blood Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,940.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .