Journal profile · Neurosciences
Journal of Alzheimer s Disease
ISSN 1387-2877 · eISSN 1875-8908 · SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press) · NETHERLANDS · Semimonthly · Founded 1998
Journal of Alzheimer s Disease: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.33; hybrid open access; APC about USD 800; review about 2 months (community reports); community-reported acceptance: about 25%; 915 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Alzheimer s Disease is published by SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press) and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Alzheimer's disease research and treatments, Dementia and Cognitive Impairment Research and Functional Brain Connectivity Studies, together about 60.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease is an international multidisciplinary journal to facilitate progress in understanding the etiology, pathogenesis, epidemiology, genetics, behavior, treatment and psychology of Alzheimer’s disease. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences
Editor-in-chief George PerryPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine29.2%
- Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine27.4%
- Functional Brain Connectivity StudiesNeuroscience4%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience3.8%
- Neurological Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsNeuroscience3.5%
- Cholinesterase and Neurodegenerative DiseasesMedicine3.3%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience2.7%
- Tryptophan and brain disordersNeuroscience2.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.33LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 4.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.09LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.83LetPub ·
- h-index
- 115LetPub ·
- h-index
- 222OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 8,479OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.11OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 12.46%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 857LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 13,291 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 727 | 235 | 253 |
| 2025 | 915 | 326 | 2,325 |
| 2024 | 783 | 359 | 4,958 |
| 2023 | 758 | 429 | 7,583 |
| 2022 | 792 | 422 | 12,651 |
| 2021 | 938 | 481 | 20,579 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 25%LetPub ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | USD 800 / GBP 650 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 800
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 10,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- commentarytract of 250 words or less is required. Commentaries Commentaries are usually commissioned and of around 1000 words with a short, unstructured abstract (100 wor…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorialResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- hypothesisResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- letterResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- letters to the editorcan be proposed to the Editor-in-Chief. Letters to the Editor Authors can submit a Letter to the Editor of 1000 words or less (no tables/figures) concerning pri…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- meta-analysisResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- research articleResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- research articlesArticle types Research ArticlesLength not stated
- research reportResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…main text ≤ 10,000 words
- reviewResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…main text ≤ 10,000 words
- review articleResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- reviewsReviews Reviews (narrative) should be authoritative and topical and provide comprehensive and balanced coverage of a timely and/or controversial issue.Length not stated
- short communicationsupplemental material for review only. Short Communications A short communication is an article of original scholarship of unusual interest of less than 2000 wo…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- systematic reviewResearch Articles Organization and style of presentation ⦁ Manuscripts must be written in English. Authors whose native language is not English are advised to c…Length not stated
- systematic reviews/meta-analysesSystematic reviews/Meta-analysesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: ⦁ Share your research data in a relevant public data repository ⦁ Include a data…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Member of the Committee on Publication Ethics Model summary
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
When an article is accepted for publication, authors are required to pay $800/£650 for a research report, review, hypothesis, short communication, commentary (unsolicited), ethics review (unsolicited), and letters to the editors (unsolicited). Publication fees do not apply to invited (solicited) articles, ethics response, and book reviews. This publication fee is not related to open access publica…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Single anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications (formerly IOS Press)
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Semimonthly
- Founded
- 1998
- ISSN
- 1387-2877
- Electronic ISSN
- 1875-8908
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Alzheimer s Disease
What CAS zone is Journal of Alzheimer s Disease in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Alzheimer s Disease is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Alzheimer s Disease?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.33; CiteScore 5.7, h-index 222.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Alzheimer s Disease?
Authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 25%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Alzheimer s Disease?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Journal of Alzheimer s Disease?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Alzheimer s Disease is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Alzheimer s Disease open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Alzheimer s Disease is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 800.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .