Journal profile · DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE
Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics
ISSN 2005-7806 · eISSN 2005-7814 · The Korean Academy of prosthodontics · SOUTH KOREA
Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.02; fully open access; median 88 days to acceptance (66 articles, last 24 months); 35 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics is published by The Korean Academy of prosthodontics and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dental materials and restorations, Dental Implant Techniques and Outcomes and Endodontics and Root Canal Treatments, together about 52.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Orthodontics and Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics (JAP) is the official publication of the Korean Academy of Prosthodontics. Established on March 31, 2009, the journal is published bimonthly (the last day of February, April, June, August, October, and December). Its abbreviated title is J Adv Prosthodont. As a peer-reviewed scientific journal, JAP is dedicated to the dissemination of new knowledge and information regarding the restoration of human oral and maxillofacial structures. Its scope encompasses innovative clinical approaches and the application of biomaterials in a clinical setting. JAP is currently indexed, tracked, and covered by CrossRef, Google Scholar, PubMed, PubMed Central (PMC), Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), and Scopus. ·
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE
Editor-in-chief In-Sung Yeo SeoulPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 6%); most named South Korea 7, Japan 2, Germany 2, Canada 2, Mainland China 1 (18 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dental materials and restorationsDentistry26.5%
- Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry17.9%
- Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry8.5%
- Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry6.7%
- Bone Tissue Engineering MaterialsEngineering5.9%
- Dental Erosion and TreatmentDentistry4.5%
- Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry3.6%
- Dental Research and COVID-19Dentistry3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePMCPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.02LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.12LetPub ·
- h-index
- 23LetPub ·
- h-index
- 64OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 569OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.25OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 34LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 874 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 36 | 36 | 7 |
| 2025 | 35 | 35 | 107 |
| 2024 | 36 | 36 | 127 |
| 2023 | 31 | 31 | 269 |
| 2022 | 38 | 38 | 608 |
| 2021 | 42 | 42 | 829 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
88 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 62 days – 112 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 58 days (66 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 149 days
- Sample
- 66 articles with submission and acceptance dates (71 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- case reportSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- meta-analysisSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…Length not stated
- narrative reviewSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…Length not stated
- original articleSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…Length not stated
- reviewSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…Length not stated
- review articlee Section III-E, Submission Package). A review article must not exceed 8,000 words, excluding the Abstract, References, and Table/Figure legenmain text ≤ 8,000 words
- systematic reviewSee the table below for details of each article type. Article Type Abstract Description Required Reporting Guidelines Original Article Yes (≤ 250 words) Randomi…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use H. Use of Artificial Intelligence–Assisted Technologies
Authors must disclose at submission whether artificial intelligence–assisted technologies, including large language models, chatbots, or image-generation tools, were used in preparing the manuscript. The name of the tool and the purpose for which it was used must be described in the cover letter and in the appropriate section of the manuscript: use for writing assistance must be described in the A…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship A. Authorship and Contributorship
JAP defines an “author” as a person whose participation in the work is sufficient for taking public responsibility for the work as a whole and the author’s own contributions. Specifically, all authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) conception and design of the study, acquisition of the data, or analysis and interpretation of the data; and (2) drafting of th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest E. Conflict of Interest
Each author must disclose all potential conflicts of interest (COI) by completing and submitting the Author Form. A COI is a financial relationship or other circumstance that may affect, or may reasonably be thought by others to affect, an author’s judgment, conduct, or manuscript. A COI must be disclosed regardless of whether it has actually influenced, or is believed to influence, the author's j…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability I. Data Availability
Authors must provide a Data Availability statement in the manuscript describing whether, and where, the data supporting the reported findings are available. If the underlying data cannot be shared because of ethical, privacy, legal, or proprietary restrictions, the statement must explain the reason. For clinical trials, the Data Availability statement must also comply with the ICMJE requirements f…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright F. Copyright
Papers are accepted on the understanding that no substantial part has been or will be published elsewhere, in whole or in part, and that upon acceptance, copyright of the article is transferred to The Korean Academy of Prosthodontics. If papers closely related to the submitted manuscript have been published or submitted for publication elsewhere, the author must state this in the cover letter. The…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines G. Clinical Trial Registration
JAP requires prospective registration of all clinical trials in a publicly accessible registry accepted by the ICMJE. JAP has adopted the WHO’s definition of a clinical trial: “any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes.” Registration must be completed at or before the t…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- The Korean Academy of prosthodontics
- Country or region
- SOUTH KOREA
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2005-7806
- Electronic ISSN
- 2005-7814
- Society / sponsor
- Korean Academy of Prosthodontics
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 18, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics
What CAS zone is Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.02; CiteScore 4.6, h-index 64.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics?
Based on the dates recorded on 66 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 88 days (interquartile range 62–112 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics based?
Of the 18 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (7), Japan (2) and Germany (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Advanced Prosthodontics is a fully open-access journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .