Journal profile · Medicine-Ophthalmology
JFO Open Ophthalmology
ISSN 2949-8899 · Elsevier · France
JFO Open Ophthalmology: impact factor 1 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,070; review about 119 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 33 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JFO Open Ophthalmology is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Intraocular Surgery and Lenses, Glaucoma and retinal disorders and Corneal surgery and disorders, together about 23% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology and Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JFO Open Ophthalmology is a quarterly peer-reviewed gold open-access e-only scientific journal, companion title to the Journal Francais d'Ophtalmologie and official publication of the French Society of Ophthalmology.In four annual volumes, the journal welcomes original research articles, reviews and meta-analyses, images, and letters to the Editor in English language. It represents a universally accessible open access publication covering research and educational articles for ophthalmologists and visual science specialists. The articles range from clinical investigations exploring new chemical molecules to pharmacoepidemiology studies in real life setting, clinical observations, and in-depth reviews. Special consideration is given to papers about therapeutics.The journal applies the recommendations of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) and follows the guidelines of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). The editors strongly discourage editorial misconduct and if duplicative text from published sources is identified without proper citation or other ethical problems with the content or data collection detected, the submission will not be considered for peer review and returned to the authors or immediately rejected.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Ophthalmology
Editor-in-chief Christophe BaudouinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named France 10, India 3, Morocco 2 (15 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine8.5%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine8.1%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine6.4%
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine6.1%
- Retinal and Macular SurgeryMedicine6.1%
- Retinal Imaging and AnalysisMedicine5.4%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.1%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering5.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.54LetPub ·
- h-index
- 5OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.54OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 196 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 22 | 22 | 1 |
| 2025 | 33 | 33 | 8 |
| 2024 | 71 | 71 | 59 |
| 2023 | 70 | 70 | 148 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
119 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 6 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 6 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 20 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 76 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 119 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 11 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,070 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,680 / EUR 1,570 / GBP 1,340 / JPY 208,370 | — | — | |
| LetPub | EUR 1,500 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,250 / USD 2,500 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- case reporttstanding contribution. The length of a case report should not exceed 3000 words, abstract and keywords must be provided. A total number ofmain text ≤ 3,000 words
- case reportsCase reports will only be accepted if they represent an outstanding contribution. The length of a case report should not exceed 3000 words, abstract and keyword…Length not stated
- general reviewAn abstract must be included with general review. The volume will be between 4000 and 10000 words, and there may be up to 100 references.Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters can be addressed to the editors only to comment on published articles (for case reports please use the case report section). The number of authors is no…main text ≤ 800 words · references ≤ 5
- original articleOriginal articles are divided into sections with the headings Introduction, Materials and methods, Results, Discussion, and Conclusion. Long articles should be …main text ≤ 7,000 words · references ≤ 50
- original articlesOriginal articles are divided into sections with the headings Introduction, Materials and methods, Results, Discussion, and Conclusion.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
By adhering to the authorship requirements stated above, authors meet the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) criteria [updated version January 2024] on authorship.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting Guidelines
Authors must use the EQUATOR reporting guidelines if their methods are covered by the relevant checklist (for example for Systematic reviews please use PRISMA. The appropriate reporting guidelines must be cited in the Methods section. Adherence to these checklists will be verified for these methods. Completed checklists must be submitted using file type "Supplementary Material" and will be publish…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- France
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2949-8899
- Society / sponsor
- French Society of Ophthalmology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JFO Open Ophthalmology
What is the impact factor of JFO Open Ophthalmology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.7, h-index 5.
How long does peer review take at JFO Open Ophthalmology?
The publisher reports about 119 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 6 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of JFO Open Ophthalmology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of JFO Open Ophthalmology based?
Of the 15 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (10), India (3) and Morocco (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index JFO Open Ophthalmology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JFO Open Ophthalmology is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is JFO Open Ophthalmology open access, and what is the APC?
JFO Open Ophthalmology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,070.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .