Journal profile · MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL
JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan
ISSN 1022-386X · eISSN 1681-7168 · College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan · Karachi · Monthly · Founded 1991
JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.99; fully open access; median 159 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 542 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan is published by College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Inflammatory Biomarkers in Disease Prognosis, COVID-19 Clinical Research Studies and Anesthesia and Pain Management, together about 22.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (JCPSP), is an open access, peer reviewed monthly biomedical journal of the country published regularly since 1991.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Inflammatory Biomarkers in Disease PrognosisMedicine8.5%
- COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine7.4%
- Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine6.2%
- Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.6%
- Sepsis Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.2%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine4.2%
- Gallbladder and Bile Duct DisordersMedicine4.2%
- Kidney Stones and Urolithiasis TreatmentsMedicine4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.99LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 53Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.31LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 30LetPub ·
- h-index
- 31OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 337OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.5OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.61%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 273LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,178 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 515 | 515 | 12 |
| 2025 | 542 | 542 | 211 |
| 2024 | 508 | 508 | 567 |
| 2023 | 450 | 450 | 839 |
| 2022 | 505 | 505 | 1,643 |
| 2021 | 453 | 453 | 1,947 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
159 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 106 days – 255 days
- Acceptance to online
- —
- Submission to online
- —
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (679 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted9
- clinical practice articleClinical Practice Article Association Between Oral Health Status and Oral Frailty in Older InpatientsLength not stated
- commentaryCommentary Unpacking Enteric Fever in Pakistan: Insights into Clinical Patterns and Financial BurdensLength not stated
- editorialEditorial Pre-Pandemic Scientific Insights into Influenza A (H3N2): Viral Evolution, Host Responses, and Evidence-Based Preventive StrategiesLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the Editor Brugada Syndrome in Pakistan: A Context-Adapted Screen-Refer-Treat-Collaborate Framework Based on the Re-evaluation of a 2015 JCPSP CaseLength not stated
- meta-analysisMeta-Analysis A Meta-Analysis of Human Immunodeficiency Virus Drug Resistance in PakistanLength not stated
- original articleOriginal Article Relationship Between Comprehensive Geriatric Assessment and Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction in Elderly PatientsLength not stated
- short communicationShort Communication Serum Retinol-Binding Protein 4 Levels in Hypertensive and Normotensive IndividualsLength not stated
- systematic review articleSystematic Review Article Rethinking Transfusion Strategies in CABG: Acute Normovolaemic Haemodilution versus Conventional Transfusion: A Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- viewpointViewpoint A Novel Metric to Guide Cancer Priorities in PakistanLength not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan
- Country or region
- Karachi
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1991
- ISSN
- 1022-386X
- Electronic ISSN
- 1681-7168
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan
What CAS zone is JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Medicine, General & Internal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.99; CiteScore 1.4, h-index 31.
How long does peer review take at JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 159 days (interquartile range 106–255 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan open access, and what is the APC?
JCPSP-Journal of the College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan is a fully open-access journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .