Journal profile · Medicine-Dermatology
JAAD Case Reports
ISSN 2352-5126 · Elsevier · Netherlands
JAAD Case Reports: impact factor 12.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 850; review about 98 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 671 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JAAD Case Reports is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Autoimmune Bullous Skin Diseases, Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders research and Cancer and Skin Lesions, together about 24.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Dermatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JAAD Case Reports® is one of three open access companion titles to the highly-respected Journal of The American Academy of Dermatology(JAAD) . JDCR supports the advancement of clinical dermatology practice through its dedication to publishing traditional and interactive, new and novel case reports, case series, and images that are authentic, understandable, educational, and of interest to an audience of dermatologists, residents, fellows, and researchers in all dermatology subspecialties, as well as clinicians in related fields. Each submission should have an emphasis on high-quality, clinical photography.Submissions should present any of the following: new diseases, new presentations of known diseases, new associations, new diagnostic techniques, new treatments including any adverse events and procedural techniques, as well as other cases related to the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and improvement of the skin, hair, and nails.All submissions are peer reviewed. To provide fully available, open access articles, authors are requested to pay a publication fee once their manuscript has been accepted. Following payment of this fee, the article will be made universally available at http://www.sciencedirect.com and on Elsevier's HealthAdvance platform.The Journal has a 2022 CiteScore of 1.9.JDCR supports a culture of inclusion and connectedness.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Dermatology
Editor-in-chief Brett SloanPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 66, Singapore 5, France 3, Jordan 1 (75 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine9.7%
- Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders researchMedicine8.2%
- Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine6.7%
- Autoimmune and Inflammatory DisordersMedicine6%
- Genetic and rare skin diseases.Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.8%
- Skin Diseases and DiabetesMedicine4.7%
- Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer StudiesMedicine4.4%
- Urticaria and Related ConditionsMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 12.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2022
- 1.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.4LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.58LetPub ·
- h-index
- 45OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 722OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.81OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,082 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 592 | 592 | 85 |
| 2025 | 671 | 671 | 432 |
| 2024 | 518 | 518 | 933 |
| 2023 | 469 | 469 | 1,753 |
| 2022 | 558 | 558 | 2,413 |
| 2021 | 477 | 477 | 3,104 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
98 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 4 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 4 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 43 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 98 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 850 | Yes | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 750 / EUR 700 / GBP 600 / JPY 93,020 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 675 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 850 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Not considered
- Letters to the Editor
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- case reportent(s) must be obtained by the authors. Case Reports must not exceed 1000 words and should not cite more than ten references. Up to four figmain text ≤ 1,000 words
- case report and literature reviewCase Report and Literature Review1000No2n/aLength not stated
- editorialManuscripts should be concise and to the point. Inclusion of textbook-type material is strongly discouraged, as is repetition of the same statements in the Intr…Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters commenting on material previously published in the JAAD Case Reports will be considered for the Letters to the Editor section. These should be limited t…main text ≤ 250 words
- reviewManuscripts should be concise and to the point. Inclusion of textbook-type material is strongly discouraged, as is repetition of the same statements in the Intr…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Elsevier recognizes the potential of generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI Tools”), when used responsibly, to help researchers work efficiently, gain critical insights fast and achieve better outcomes. Increasingly, these tools, including AI agents and deep research tools, are…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship and verification
Each author must verify their authorship and list potential conflicts of interest. Upon manuscript submission, an email will be sent to each co-author asking them to verify their authorship. It is required that each author confirm their authorship and fill out the co-author questionnaire. There is a section on the questionnaire for authors to list their conflicts of interest.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright transfer and ownership of data
In accordance with the Copyright Act of 1976, which became effective January 1, 1978, the following statement must be attested to by each author when the manuscript is submitted: "I, the undersigned author, transfer all copyright ownership of the manuscript referenced above to the American Academy of Dermatology, in the event the work is published. I warrant that the article is original, does not …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Peer review type: single anonymized review process. Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Preprint policy: Articles published on pre-print servers will not be accepted. Model summary
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2352-5126
- Society / sponsor
- American Academy of Dermatology The Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JAAD Case Reports
What is the impact factor of JAAD Case Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 12.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.7, h-index 45.
How long does peer review take at JAAD Case Reports?
The publisher reports about 98 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 4 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of JAAD Case Reports based?
Of the 75 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (66), Singapore (5) and France (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index JAAD Case Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JAAD Case Reports is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is JAAD Case Reports open access, and what is the APC?
JAAD Case Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 850.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-28). Last updated: .