Journal profile · Social Sciences-Political Science and International Relations
IPPR Progressive Review
ISSN 2573-2331 · Wiley-Blackwell
IPPR Progressive Review: subscription journal; APC about USD 3,140; 17 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
IPPR Progressive Review is published by Wiley-Blackwell. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Political and Economic history of UK and US, Social Policy and Reform Studies and Electoral Systems and Political Participation, together about 38.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Political Science and International Relations. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Progressive Review is IPPR’s journal of politics, ideas, and public policy. In a spirit of pluralism and openness, we host bold ideas, big thinking, and rigorous debate about policy, the ways our economy, society and culture are changing, and how politics should respond.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Political Science and International Relations
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Political and Economic history of UK and USSocial Sciences15.6%
- Social Policy and Reform StudiesSocial Sciences14.1%
- Electoral Systems and Political ParticipationSocial Sciences8.5%
- Political Theory and DemocracySocial Sciences7.1%
- Political Economy and MarxismSocial Sciences4.7%
- Economic Theory and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4%
- Climate Change Policy and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.8%
- Political Systems and GovernanceSocial Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sociology and Political Science | Q4 | 1253/1530 | 18th |
| Political Science and International Relations | Q4 | 613/745 | 17th |
| Economics, Econometrics and Finance (miscellaneous) | Q4 | 252/283 | 11th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EconLitPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, RePEc
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 0.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.17LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.36LetPub ·
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 23OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.29OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 6Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 44,319Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 461 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 30 | 25 | 80 |
| 2025 | 17 | 6 | 150 |
| 2024 | 46 | 27 | 127 |
| 2023 | 46 | 32 | 123 |
| 2022 | 58 | 22 | 117 |
| 2021 | 54 | 18 | 135 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref
Not usableThis publisher's "received" date is mostly when the revised manuscript arrived (33% of articles were "accepted" within 3 days), so it cannot measure review time
Other sources
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,140 / EUR 2,630 / GBP 2,110 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,500 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Templates
- Word
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted3, with length limits
- longer lead essaysLonger lead essays may be 2,500-3,500 words, or longer by agreement with the editors.Length not stated
- opinioneparate files (see below). Length Short opinion articles should be 1,500-2,000 words. Longer lead essays may be 2,500-3,500 words, or longer bymain text ≤ 2,000 words
- short opinion articlesShort opinion articles should be 1,500-2,000 words.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
Name change policy Model summary
In cases where authors wish to change their name following publication, Wiley will update and republish the paper and redeliver the updated metadata to indexing services.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Encourages data sharing in public repositories Model summary
IPPR Progressive Review encourages authors to share the original data and other artefacts supporting the results in the paper by archiving it in an appropriate public repository.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Originality requirement Model summary
An article is accepted on the basis that it has not been previously published.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
An article is accepted on the basis that it has not been previously published.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
Subscription journal that offers an open access option. You'll have the option to choose to make your article open access after acceptance, which will be subject to an APC, unless a waiver applies. Read more about this journal's APCs here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-anonymized peer review Model summary
As the journal operates a double-anonymized peer review process, please ensure that all identifying information such as author names and affiliations, acknowledgements or explicit mentions of author institution in the text are on a separate page.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 2573-2331
- Print ISSN
- 2573-2323
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 32, Issue 1-3 (2025)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about IPPR Progressive Review
What are the manuscript requirements of IPPR Progressive Review?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Reference style: Author–date; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index IPPR Progressive Review?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, IPPR Progressive Review is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists EconLit; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is IPPR Progressive Review open access, and what is the APC?
IPPR Progressive Review is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,140.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .