Journal profile
International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education
ISSN 1838-2959 · Queensland University of Technology · Australia
International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 28 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education is published by Queensland University of Technology. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Higher Education Research Studies, Higher Education Practises and Engagement and Evaluation of Teaching Practices, together about 55.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-chief Karen NelsonPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 46, United Kingdom 6, United States 2, New Zealand 2, Malaysia 1 (57 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences32.9%
- Higher Education Practises and EngagementSocial Sciences17.6%
- Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences4.8%
- Student Stress and CopingPsychology4.8%
- Evasion and Academic Success FactorsSocial Sciences4.8%
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences4.6%
- Education during COVID-19 pandemicSocial Sciences2.5%
- Disability Education and EmploymentSocial Sciences2.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 34OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 143OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.79OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 506 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 49 | 49 | 434 |
| 2025 | 28 | 28 | 576 |
| 2024 | 42 | 42 | 718 |
| 2023 | 36 | 36 | 768 |
| 2022 | 28 | 28 | 678 |
| 2021 | 33 | 33 | 634 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- practice reportspractice reportsLength not stated
- research articlesresearch articlesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright
- AI use Enhancing Student Success through AI-Assisted Reflective Learning in Entrepreneurship Education: An Empirical Study
Kim Loc Tran, Luan Trong Nguyen, Khanh Minh Pham 120-130 PDF
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
CC BY 4.0 Model summary
content in this journal is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Queensland University of Technology
- Country or region
- Australia
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1838-2959
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 17, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education
How long does peer review take at International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education based?
Of the 57 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (46), United Kingdom (6) and United States (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education is indexed in DOAJ.
Is International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education open access, and what is the APC?
International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .