Journal profile · Medicine, General & Internal
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
ISSN 1746-0689 · eISSN 1878-0164 · Elsevier Ltd · NETHERLANDS · Quarterly · Founded 2005
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.27; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,740; review about 227 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: about 75%; 60 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitation, Myofascial pain diagnosis and treatment and Innovations in Medical Education, together about 38.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
An official journal of General Osteopathic Council (UK), Osteopathy Australia, Ontario Association of Osteopathic Manual Practitioners, Osteopaths New Zealand Inc, Osteopathy BC, Officially recognised by:, Association of the Osteopathie Schule Deutschland (VOSD), Commission for Osteopathic Research, Practice and Promotion (CORPP), German Academy of Osteopathy And officially supported by Osteopathic European Academic Network (OsEAN), Manitoba Osteopathic AssociationThe International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is a peer-reviewed journal that provides for the publication of high quality research articles and review papers that are as broad as the many disciplines that influence and underpin the principles and practice of osteopathic medicine. Particular emphasis is given to basic science research, clinical epidemiology and health social science in relation to osteopathy and neuromusculoskeletal medicine.The Editorial Board encourages submission of articles based on both quantitative and qualitative research designs. The Editorial Board also aims to provide a forum for discourse and debate on any aspect of osteopathy and neuromusculoskeletal medicine with the aim of critically evaluating existing practices in regard to the diagnosis, treatment and management of patients with neuromusculoskeletal disorders and somatic dysfunction. All manuscripts submitted to the IJOM are subject to a blinded review process. The categories currently available for publication include reports of original research, review papers, commentaries and articles related to clinical practice, including case reports. Further details can be found in the IJOM Instructions for Authors. Manuscripts are accepted for publication with the understanding that no substantial part has been, or will be published elsewhere.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine, General & Internal
Editor-in-chief Paul VaucherPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 15, Italy 6, Australia 6, United States 4, Canada 3 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine22.8%
- Myofascial pain diagnosis and treatmentBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology8.9%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine6.4%
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine StudiesMedicine5.6%
- Pain Management and Placebo EffectNeuroscience5.2%
- Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome ResearchMedicine4.8%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine4.5%
- Clinical Reasoning and Diagnostic SkillsMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.27LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.3Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2023
- 1.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2023
- 2.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.31LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17LetPub ·
- h-index
- 41OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 247OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.46OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 23.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 16.54%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 50LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,007 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 47 | 10 | 19 |
| 2025 | 60 | 21 | 82 |
| 2024 | 35 | 16 | 107 |
| 2023 | 48 | 10 | 192 |
| 2022 | 50 | 13 | 260 |
| 2021 | 47 | 14 | 329 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
227 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 3 months
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 75%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 20 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 110 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 227 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,740 / EUR 2,560 / GBP 2,190 / JPY 339,840 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,080 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 500 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
Article types accepted18, with length limits
- clinical practiceAuthors should select the article type "Clinical Commentary" when submitting a Clinical Practice paperLength not stated
- commentaryarising from pilot study. Professional Commentaries (up to 3,500 words) Includes articles that do not fit into the above criteriamain text ≤ 3,500 words
- editorialFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- letterFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- letters to the editorFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- original articleFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- original research articleFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- preliminary findingsPreliminary Findings (1,500-2,500 words)Length not stated
- professional commentariesProfessional Commentaries (up to 3,500 words)Length not stated
- protocoline can be found on the EQUATOR website Protocols (1,500–2,000 words) Authors should select “Method Article” at the submission smain text ≤ 2,000 words
- protocolsProtocols (1,500–2,000 words)Length not stated
- research noteResearch Note (up to 1,500 words)Length not stated
- research paperFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- reviewFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- review articleFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
- reviews and original articlesReviews and Original Articles (2,000 - 5,000 words)Length not stated
- short reviewFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- systematic reviewFor all the following types of contributions authors are requested to consider the international readership of the journal and to be aware of the need to explai…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ltd
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Quarterly
- Founded
- 2005
- ISSN
- 1746-0689
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-0164
- Society / sponsor
- General Osteopathic Council
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
What CAS zone is International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Medicine, General & Internal / Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.27; CiteScore 2.1, h-index 41.
How long does peer review take at International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine?
The publisher reports about 227 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 75%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 500 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (15), Italy (6) and Australia (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,740.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .