Journal profile · Engineering, Electrical & Electronic
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education
ISSN 0020-7209 · eISSN 2050-4578 · SAGE Publications Inc. · ENGLAND · Quarterly
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education: impact factor 0.68; subscription journal; APC about USD 4,400; review over 12 weeks (community reports); community-reported acceptance: easy; 150 articles a year; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education is published by SAGE Publications Inc.. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Experimental Learning in Engineering, Sensor Technology and Measurement Systems and Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, together about 35.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education's origins date back to 1948, when the world’s first stored-programme digital computer ran at the University of Manchester. In 1963, the Bulletin of Electrical Engineering Education evolved into the peer-reviewed International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education (IJEEE). Today, IJEEE provides a showcase for international developments in the undergraduate teaching of electrical... View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Engineering, Electrical & Electronic
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 7, United States 2, India 2, Brazil 1, Malaysia 1 (16 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Experimental Learning in EngineeringEngineering21.8%
- Sensor Technology and Measurement SystemsComputer Science8%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance6%
- Engineering Education and Curriculum DevelopmentEngineering4.8%
- Neural Networks and ApplicationsComputer Science4.4%
- Engineering Education and PedagogyEngineering4.3%
- Electric Motor Design and AnalysisEngineering4.2%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.68LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.74LetPub ·
- h-index
- 19LetPub ·
- h-index
- 42OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 289OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 150LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,585 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 14 | 3 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| 2023 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 232 | 9 | 1,586 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- over 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 2%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 49 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,400 / GBP 3,226 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Templates
- LaTeX and Word
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- case studyOriginal Research Article: (upto 3000 words) These should detail original experiments/research conducted by the authors. Any research on any topic is accepted, …Length not stated
- original research articleOriginal Research Article: (upto 3000 words) These should detail original experiments/research conducted by the authors. Any research on any topic is accepted, …main text ≤ 3,000 words
- research articleOriginal Research Article: (upto 3000 words) These should detail original experiments/research conducted by the authors. Any research on any topic is accepted, …Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Research Article: (upto 3000 words) These should detail original experiments/research conducted by the authors. Any research on any topic is accepted, …main text ≤ 5,000 words
- short reportShort Report: (Upto 2000 words): Shorts papers are encouraged on the project reports, case studies, and studies on innovative technologies applied to electrical…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data sharing encouraged. Model summary
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
COPE member. Model summary
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures supplied in colour will appear in colour online regardless of whether or not these illustrations are reproduced in colour in the printed version. For specifically requested colour reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint policy: preprint-posted manuscripts accepted; DOI required at submission; no updated versions during review. Model summary
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
Clinical trial registration required per ICMJE. Model summary
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Inc.
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Frequency
- Quarterly
- ISSN
- 0020-7209
- Electronic ISSN
- 2050-4578
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education
What is the impact factor of International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.68; CiteScore 5.2, h-index 42.
How long does peer review take at International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education?
Authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Templates: LaTeX and Word; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education based?
Of the 16 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (7), United States (2) and India (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education is indexed in Scopus.
Is International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education open access, and what is the APC?
International Journal of Electrical Engineering Education is a subscription journal. APC about USD 4,400.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .