Journal profile · NURSING
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing
ISSN 0964-3397 · eISSN 1532-4036 · Churchill Livingstone · ENGLAND
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.04; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,140; median 75 days to acceptance (96 articles, last 24 months); 335 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Intensive Care Unit Cognitive Disorders, Family and Patient Care in Intensive Care Units and Sepsis Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 42.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The aims of Intensive and Critical Care Nursing are to promote excellence of care of critically ill patients by specialist nurses and their professional colleagues; to provide an international and interdisciplinary forum for the publication, dissemination and exchange of research findings, experience and ideas; to develop and enhance the knowledge, skills, attitudes and creative thinking essential to good critical care nursing practice. The journal publishes reviews, updates and feature articles in addition to original papers and significant preliminary communications. Articles may deal with any part of practice including relevant clinical, research, educational, psychological and technological aspects.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): NURSING
Editor-in-chief Stijn BlotPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 10, United Kingdom 8, Belgium 6, Italy 4, Netherlands 4 (49 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Intensive Care Unit Cognitive DisordersMedicine18%
- Family and Patient Care in Intensive Care UnitsHealth Professions17.1%
- Sepsis Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine7.4%
- Palliative Care and End-of-Life IssuesMedicine6.3%
- Respiratory Support and MechanismsMedicine5.4%
- Nosocomial Infections in ICUMedicine4.7%
- Nursing education and managementNursing4.6%
- Infant Development and Preterm CareMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Critical Care Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.04LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 7.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.28LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.69LetPub ·
- h-index
- 51LetPub ·
- h-index
- 97OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,418OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.66OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 17.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 45.61%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 136LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,522 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 222 | 102 | 136 |
| 2025 | 335 | 137 | 916 |
| 2024 | 266 | 123 | 1,964 |
| 2023 | 170 | 75 | 1,857 |
| 2022 | 138 | 70 | 2,572 |
| 2021 | 137 | 67 | 2,995 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
75 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 11 days – 109 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 15 days (96 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 93 days
- Sample
- 96 articles with submission and acceptance dates (684 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 44 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 26 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,140 / EUR 3,870 / GBP 3,310 / JPY 513,480 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,100 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
Article types accepted16, with length limits
- case reportin-Chief. (contact: iccn@elsevier.com). Case reports can have a maximum three authors, maximum 1000 words, maximum 15 references and may include one table or fi…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- case reportsCase ReportsLength not stated
- controversiesControversiesLength not stated
- correspondenceCorrespondenceLength not stated
- current insightsCurrent InsightsLength not stated
- editorial-in-Chief (contact: iccn@elsevier.com). Editorials should be formatted to include a maximum of three authors, 1000 words, 15 references and may include one tabl…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorialsEditorialsLength not stated
- letter to the editor/ responseLetter to the Editor/ ResponseLength not stated
- meta-analysisThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…Length not stated
- narrative , integrative, rapid and scoping reviewsNarrative , Integrative, Rapid and Scoping ReviewsLength not stated
- original research articleThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…Length not stated
- original research paperThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…Length not stated
- research articleThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…Length not stated
- reviewThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…Length not stated
- systematic reviewThe Editors of the journal welcome contributions for publication from the following categories:Research ArticleSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisNarr…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- systematic reviews with/without meta-analysisSystematic reviews with/without meta-analysisLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy. Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access options available; referred to open access information page. Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process; submissions initially assessed by editors; if suitable, sent to a minimum of two reviewers; decision made by editors. Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed per Elsevier's article sharing policy; will not count as prior publication; free preprint posting service on SSRN offered. Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Churchill Livingstone
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 0964-3397
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-4036
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Intensive and Critical Care Nursing
What CAS zone is Intensive and Critical Care Nursing in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Intensive and Critical Care Nursing is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Nursing. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Intensive and Critical Care Nursing?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.04; CiteScore 7.8, h-index 97.
How long does peer review take at Intensive and Critical Care Nursing?
Based on the dates recorded on 96 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 75 days (interquartile range 11–109 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Intensive and Critical Care Nursing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Intensive and Critical Care Nursing based?
Of the 49 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (10), United Kingdom (8) and Belgium (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Intensive and Critical Care Nursing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Intensive and Critical Care Nursing is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Is Intensive and Critical Care Nursing open access, and what is the APC?
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,140.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .