Journal profile · INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Information and Learning Sciences
ISSN 2398-5348 · eISSN 2398-5356 · Emerald
Information and Learning Sciences: CAS Zone 4 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.2 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 61 days (submission to first decision, publisher); acceptance rate 12.5% (journal website); 21 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Information and Learning Sciences is published by Emerald and is in Zone 4 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Online and Blended Learning, Innovative Teaching and Learning Methods and Library Science and Information Literacy, together about 25.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Information and Learning Sciences journal advances inter-disciplinary research that explores scholarly intersections shared within two key fields: information science and the learning sciences/education sciences. The journal publishes work that strengthens our scholarly understanding of human inquiry and learning phenomena, especially as they relate to design and uses of information and e-learning systems innovations.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 48, United Kingdom 13, Hong Kong, China 11, Canada 8, Australia 5 (112 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences8.9%
- Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology8.5%
- Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences7.9%
- Online Learning and AnalyticsComputer Science7.8%
- Teaching and Learning ProgrammingComputer Science6.1%
- Impact of Technology on AdolescentsSocial Sciences6%
- Child Development and Digital TechnologySocial Sciences5.4%
- Social Media and PoliticsSocial Sciences4.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.72LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.01LetPub ·
- h-index
- 40OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 200OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.58OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 12.75%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 19LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 138,272Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 449 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 42 | 10 | 9 |
| 2025 | 21 | 6 | 77 |
| 2024 | 42 | 9 | 500 |
| 2023 | 45 | 9 | 463 |
| 2022 | 32 | 9 | 439 |
| 2021 | 42 | 9 | 502 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 12.5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 61 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 38 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4, with length limits
- articleArticle — up to 10000 wordsLength not stated
- case studyCase Study — up to 10000 wordsLength not stated
- editorialArticle — up to 10000 words Viewpoint — up to 3000 words Case Study — up to 10000 words Editorial — up to 3000 words Please see the article types and word count…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- viewpointArticle — up to 10000 words Viewpoint — up to 3000 words Case Study — up to 10000 words Editorial — up to 3000 words Please see the article types and word count…main text ≤ 3,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English. Model summary
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access options
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. Model summary
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and self-archive your article (at no cost to the author). Read more about our open access options.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review type
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers. Model summary
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Emerald
- ISSN
- 2398-5348
- Electronic ISSN
- 2398-5356
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 127, Issue 7-8 (July 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Information and Learning Sciences
What CAS zone is Information and Learning Sciences in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Information and Learning Sciences is in Zone 4 of Management, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Information Science & Library Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Information and Learning Sciences?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.2 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.5, h-index 40.
How long does peer review take at Information and Learning Sciences?
The publisher reports about 61 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 12.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Information and Learning Sciences based?
Of the 112 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (48), United Kingdom (13) and Hong Kong, China (11). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Information and Learning Sciences?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Information and Learning Sciences is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Information and Learning Sciences open access, and what is the APC?
Information and Learning Sciences is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .