Journal profile · RHEUMATOLOGY

Indian Journal of Rheumatology

ISSN 0973-3698 · eISSN 0973-3701 · Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications · India

Indian Journal of Rheumatology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 108 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 34.6% (journal website); 63 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time108 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 13 weeks
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance34.6%From the journal's website
Articles per year632025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Indian Journal of Rheumatology is published by Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and Therapies, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Research and Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders Research, together about 39.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Rheumatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Indian Journal of Rheumatology is an open access, peer reviewed journal which publishes high-quality empirical original research and review articles pertaining to all domains of Rheumatology. Articles are freely accessible online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons license . It started in 2006 as the official publication of Indian Rheumatology Association and is a … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): RHEUMATOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Durga PrasannaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named India 131, United States 13, United Kingdom 9, Italy 5, Türkiye 3 (173 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine17.6%
  2. Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine14.8%
  3. Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders ResearchMedicine7.5%
  4. Spondyloarthritis Studies and TreatmentsMedicine6.9%
  5. Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine5.8%
  6. Vasculitis and related conditionsMedicine5.3%
  7. Inflammatory Myopathies and DermatomyositisMedicine4.3%
  8. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorRheumatologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorRheumatologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
1.1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.19LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.26LetPub ·
h-index
21OpenAlex ·
i10-index
99OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.45OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
16.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
32LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,969 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202659592
2025636312
2024777775
2023595994
2022161161308
2021118118256

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

108 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 13 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 13 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
34.6%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
5 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
35 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
108 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
38 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 0——
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 4,000 words
Reference style
AMA
Suggested reviewers
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4
  1. editorialThese updated guidelines are effective from March 2026. General Type the manuscript using 'Times New Roman' font, size 12 in double space throughout. Please ref…Length not stated
  2. original articleThese updated guidelines are effective from March 2026. General Type the manuscript using 'Times New Roman' font, size 12 in double space throughout. Please ref…Length not stated
  3. reviewThese updated guidelines are effective from March 2026. General Type the manuscript using 'Times New Roman' font, size 12 in double space throughout. Please ref…Length not stated
  4. review articleThese updated guidelines are effective from March 2026. General Type the manuscript using 'Times New Roman' font, size 12 in double space throughout. Please ref…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

Copyright held by the Indian Rheumatology Association (IRA). Model summary

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

No APCs currently Model summary

Indian Journal of Rheumatology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. There are currently no Article Processing Charges (APCs) to publish in this journal. For general information on open access at Sage please visit the Open Access …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Double Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor/Associate Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts m…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism check

IJR strives to publish only honest original work, and any form of plagiarism is viewed very seriously. The manuscripts identified such would be rejected/ after publication would be retracted with formal communication to the head of institution and/or other relevant authorities. To detect plagiarism, your article may be checked by softwares after submission. Data availability The Journal is committ…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications
Country or region
India
Language
English
ISSN
0973-3698
Electronic ISSN
0973-3701
Society / sponsor
Indian Rheumatology Association
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Indian Journal of Rheumatology

What CAS zone is Indian Journal of Rheumatology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Indian Journal of Rheumatology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Rheumatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Indian Journal of Rheumatology?

The publisher reports about 108 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 34.6%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Indian Journal of Rheumatology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: AMA; Suggested reviewers: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Indian Journal of Rheumatology based?

Of the 173 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are India (131), United States (13) and United Kingdom (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Indian Journal of Rheumatology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Indian Journal of Rheumatology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Indian Journal of Rheumatology open access, and what is the APC?

Indian Journal of Rheumatology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .