Journal profile · BIOCHEMISTRY & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY
Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry
ISSN 0970-1915 · eISSN 0974-0422 · Springer Nature · 4 issues per year
Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry: CAS Zone 4 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.5 (journal website); subscription journal; APC about USD 2,290; median 90 days to acceptance (89 articles, last 24 months); 88 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 4 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Liver Disease Diagnosis and Treatment, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Natural Antidiabetic Agents Studies, together about 19.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The primary mission of the journal is to promote improvement in the health and well-being of community through the development and practice of clinical biochemistry and dissemination of knowledge and recent advances in this discipline among professionals, diagnostics industry, government and non-government organizations. Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry (IJCB) publishes peer reviewed articles that contribute to the existing knowledge in all fields of Clinical biochemistry, either experimental or theoretical, particularly deal with the applications of biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, biotechnology, and immunology to the diagnosis, treatment, monitoring and prevention of human diseases. The articles published also include those covering the analytical and molecular diagnostic techniques, instrumentation, data processing, quality assurance and accreditation aspects of the clinical investigations in which chemistry has played a major role, or laboratory animal studies with biochemical and clinical relevance.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): BIOCHEMISTRY & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Praveen Sharma FormerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named India 23, Australia 3, Germany 2, Japan 1, France 1 (36 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Liver Disease Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine7.4%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine6.1%
- Natural Antidiabetic Agents StudiesMedicine6%
- Iron Metabolism and DisordersMedicine5.1%
- Clinical Laboratory Practices and Quality ControlMedicine5%
- Vitamin C and Antioxidants ResearchNursing5%
- Antioxidant Activity and Oxidative StressMedicine4.5%
- Folate and B Vitamins ResearchMedicine4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.27LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.56LetPub ·
- h-index
- 74OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 954OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.75OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 13.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0.8%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 76LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 176,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,518 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 77 | 11 | 17 |
| 2025 | 88 | 22 | 199 |
| 2024 | 122 | 121 | 286 |
| 2023 | 64 | 64 | 394 |
| 2022 | 88 | 88 | 563 |
| 2021 | 83 | 83 | 964 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
90 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 59 days – 137 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (89 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 111 days
- Sample
- 89 articles with submission and acceptance dates (190 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,290 / EUR 3,190 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted16, with length limits
- case reportOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …main text ≤ 1,500 words
- case reports/seriesCase Reports/Series –Word limit 1500 words, 10 references maximum, no more than 3 figures/tables.Length not stated
- editorialOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials are generally by invitation only. Word limit 1000, 10 references maximum.Length not stated
- letterOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- letters to the editorOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- opinionOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- original articleOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- original researchOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles – word limit 6000 (excluding the abstract and references), a maximum of 100 references (with 70% at least from within past 5 years), and no more…Length not stated
- short communicationOriginal Articles - describe original research that has explored the subject in some detail. Word limit 3500 (excluding abstract and references), 30 references …Length not stated
- short communicationsShort Communications - describe a study that has not explored the subject in detail, but whose preliminary observations are considered to be worthy of recording…Length not stated
- student researchStudent Research – generally an outcome of thesis work conducted by students. Word limit 1500 words, no more than 10 references and 2 figures/tables.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
LLMs cannot be authors; use must be documented Model summary
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
Competing interests disclosure required Model summary
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data transparency requested Model summary
All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review
Reviewer suggestions/exclusions allowed Model summary
The editor-in-chief assigns manuscripts to managing editors for initial evaluation to check suitability as per journal guidelines. Following this preliminary check, Editor in Chief may either reject manuscripts or send them for review. Those warranting review are then assigned to associate and assistant editors, to oversee the review process before submitting their recommendation to the Editor in …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism screening software may be used Model summary
the journal may use software to screen for plagiarism
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 4 issues per year
- ISSN
- 0970-1915
- Electronic ISSN
- 0974-0422
- Society / sponsor
- Association of Clinical Biochemists of India
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 41, Issue 5 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry
What CAS zone is Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry is in Zone 4 of Biology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Biochemistry & Molecular Biology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.9, h-index 74.
How long does peer review take at Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry?
Based on the dates recorded on 89 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 90 days (interquartile range 59–137 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry based?
Of the 36 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are India (23), Australia (3) and Germany (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry open access, and what is the APC?
Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry is a subscription journal. APC about USD 2,290.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .