Journal profile · Medicine-Urology
IJU Case Reports
ISSN 2577-171X · Wiley · Australia
IJU Case Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2026 Xinrui edition); impact factor 0.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,450; median 88 days to acceptance (106 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 66% (journal website); 161 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
IJU Case Reports is published by Wiley and is classed under Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Bladder and Urothelial Cancer Treatments, Renal cell carcinoma treatment and Urinary and Genital Oncology Studies, together about 26.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery and Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
IJU Case Reports is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that will consider new observations of diseases, clinical findings or novel/unique treatment outcomes relevant to practitioners in urology.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Urology
Editor-in-chief Yoshio AsoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 4, Hong Kong, China 2, Taiwan, China 2, Japan 2, India 2 (43 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Bladder and Urothelial Cancer TreatmentsMedicine10.1%
- Renal cell carcinoma treatmentMedicine8.4%
- Urinary and Genital Oncology StudiesMedicine7.8%
- Ureteral procedures and complicationsMedicine7.4%
- Urological Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine6.9%
- Urologic and reproductive health conditionsMedicine6.1%
- Testicular diseases and treatmentsMedicine4.7%
- Prostate Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Urology & Nephrology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePMCPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.22LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.39LetPub ·
- h-index
- 13OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 30OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.46OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 20%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 139LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 145Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 170,847Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,121 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 146 | 146 | 25 |
| 2025 | 161 | 161 | 61 |
| 2024 | 128 | 128 | 113 |
| 2023 | 129 | 129 | 208 |
| 2022 | 160 | 160 | 405 |
| 2021 | 150 | 150 | 457 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
88 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 63 days – 105 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (106 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 102 days
- Sample
- 106 articles with submission and acceptance dates (322 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 66%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 66%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 26 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 26 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 80 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 12 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,450 / GBP 1,090 / EUR 1,330 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 4,960 / EUR 4,760 / GBP 4,130 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,320 / GBP 990 / EUR 1,210 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Keywords
- 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 1,200 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- case report(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…main text ≤ 1,200 words
- case reports(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures.Length not stated
- editorial(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…Length not stated
- letter(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…Length not stated
- letters to the editor(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…Length not stated
- perspective(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…Length not stated
- review(1) CASE REPORTS Word limit: 1,200 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figures. The total should be within 5 typeset pages including t…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Disclosing the use of artificial intelligence (AI)
If you or your co-authors have used Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs) to develop any portion of a manuscript, their use must be described transparently and in detail in the Methods section. Find more details in Wiley’s AI guidelines for researchers and Wiley’s AI policy in full in the Best Practices Guidelines on…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
IJU Case Reports follows the recommendations formulated by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors regarding criteria for authorship. Accordingly, each person listed as an author or co-author for a submitted manuscript must meet all four criteria. An author or co-author shall have:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest
Authors must declare any financial support or relationships that may pose a conflict of interest by disclosing at the time of submission any financial arrangements they have with a company whose product figures prominently in the submitted manuscript or with a company making a competing product.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 4. ETHICAL CONSIDERATIONS
Authorship IJU Case Reports follows the recommendations formulated by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors regarding criteria for authorship. Accordingly, each person listed as an author or co-author for a submitted manuscript must meet all four criteria. An author or co-author shall have: Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work, or acquisition, analysis…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright 1. AUTHOR LICENSE AND OPEN ACCESS FEE
IJU Case Reports operates an Open Access model. The journal does not charge any submission fees. To find out more about the journal’s Article Publication Charges, please visit the Open Access page. If your paper is accepted, the author whom you identify as being the corresponding author for the paper the author will receive an email prompting them to login into Author Services; where via the Wiley…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 1. AUTHOR LICENSE AND OPEN ACCESS FEE
Open access model; no submission fees. Model summary
IJU Case Reports operates an Open Access model. The journal does not charge any submission fees. To find out more about the journal’s Article Publication Charges, please visit the Open Access page. If your paper is accepted, the author whom you identify as being the corresponding author for the paper the author will receive an email prompting them to login into Author Services; where via the Wiley…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Single-blind peer review by two or more anonymous reviewers and the Editor. Model summary
Except where otherwise stated, manuscripts are single-blind peer reviewed by two or more anonymous reviewers and the Editor.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints PREPRINT POLICY
This journal will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time. Authors are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley
- Country or region
- Australia
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2577-171X
- Society / sponsor
- Japanese Urological Association and Urological Association of Asia
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 9, Issue 5 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about IJU Case Reports
What CAS zone is IJU Case Reports in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of IJU Case Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1, h-index 13.
How long does peer review take at IJU Case Reports?
Based on the dates recorded on 106 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 88 days (interquartile range 63–105 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 66% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of IJU Case Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 1,200 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of IJU Case Reports based?
Of the 43 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (4), Hong Kong, China (2) and Taiwan, China (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index IJU Case Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, IJU Case Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is IJU Case Reports open access, and what is the APC?
IJU Case Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,450.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .