Journal profile · INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE

IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS

ISSN 0340-0352 · eISSN 1745-2651 · SAGE

IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS: CAS Zone 4 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,650; review about 135 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 15.2% (journal website); 99 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.8From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Management2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Management
Review time135 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,650Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance15.2%From the journal's website
Articles per year992025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Library Science and Administration, Library Science and Information Literacy and Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, together about 32% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

IFLA Journal is an international journal publishing peer reviewed articles on library and information services and the social, political and economic issues that impact access to information through libraries. The Journal publishes research, case studies … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 3, Mexico 2, New Zealand 2, Mainland China 1, Italy 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Library Science and AdministrationSocial Sciences12.1%
  2. Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences10.2%
  3. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance9.7%
  4. Library Science and Information SystemsComputer Science9.6%
  5. Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering8%
  6. Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science4.8%
  7. Web and Library ServicesComputer Science4.7%
  8. Digital and Traditional Archives ManagementArts and Humanities4.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorManagementZone 4
MinorInformation Science & Library ScienceZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorManagementZone 3
MinorInformation Science & Library ScienceZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
1.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.49LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.07LetPub ·
h-index
41OpenAlex ·
i10-index
323OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.88OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
16.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
23.12%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
93LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,381 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20264764
20259947326
20247932318
20234017345
2022457249
20217416630

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
15.2%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
13 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
62 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
135 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
36 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,650 / GBP 2,676——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Other fees
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
Page charges
No page charges
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 150 words
Manuscript length
≤ 8,000 words
Reference style
Harvard
Templates
LaTeX and Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted9
  1. case studiesCase Studies provide a valuable record of practices of the LIS professions.Length not stated
  2. case studyArticles and features are normally published only in English. Authors whose first language is not English should not be inhibited from submitting contributors i…Length not stated
  3. editorialArticles and features are normally published only in English. Authors whose first language is not English should not be inhibited from submitting contributors i…Length not stated
  4. essaysEssays Provide informed analysis of viewpoints, trends,Length not stated
  5. original articleArticles and features are normally published only in English. Authors whose first language is not English should not be inhibited from submitting contributors i…Length not stated
  6. original articlesOriginal articles constitute traditional empirical research, drawing on quantitative, qualitative, or mixed research methodologies.Length not stated
  7. review articleArticles and features are normally published only in English. Authors whose first language is not English should not be inhibited from submitting contributors i…Length not stated
  8. review articlesA review article provides a detailed and authoritative summation of the current state of research and understanding on an important topic within the field.Length not stated
  9. viewpointArticles and features are normally published only in English. Authors whose first language is not English should not be inhibited from submitting contributors i…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested color reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pro…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
0340-0352
Electronic ISSN
1745-2651
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS

What CAS zone is IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS is in Zone 4 of Management, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Information Science & Library Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 41.

How long does peer review take at IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS?

The publisher reports about 135 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 15.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Harvard; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS based?

Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (3), Mexico (2) and New Zealand (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS open access, and what is the APC?

IFLA JOURNAL-INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF LIBRARY ASSOCIATIONS is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .