Journal profile · Medicine-Pathology and Forensic Medicine
Human Pathology Reports
ISSN 2772-736X · Elsevier · United States
Human Pathology Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2026 Xinrui edition); impact factor 0.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,420; review about 90 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 43 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Human Pathology Reports is published by Elsevier and is classed under Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Sarcoma Diagnosis and Treatment, Cancer and Skin Lesions and Breast Lesions and Carcinomas, together about 23.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pathology and Forensic Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Human Pathology Reports, a companion title to the respected Human Pathology, is a peer-reviewed, open access journal. The journal focuses on concise yet novel case series and quality case reports, the submissions of which should report on rare, novel or unusual presentation of an entity; or new diagnostic modalities that provide valuable insight into the pathogenesis or prognosis of a disease. It also publishes a wide range of other content types, including short research articles, letters and timely reviews. The journal welcomes submissions covering the spectrum of pathology including, but not limited to, neoplasms, inflammatory diseases, immune mediated diseases and iatrogenic diseases. The journal also welcomes submissions on methodological/technical advances (immunohistochemistry and molecular genetic studies) as well as digital pathology (e.g., telepathology and artificial intelligence). The journal is well-illustrated with high quality photomicrographs and other images. The mission of Human Pathology Reports is to achieve excellence in research, education and advocacy of pathology.Human Pathology Reports maintains the highest standards of the peer review process. If accepted for publication, the authors are notified of the decision and requested to pay an Article Publishing Charge. Following payment of this fee, the article is made universally available to all on ScienceDirect.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Pathology and Forensic Medicine
Editor-in-chief Shi WeiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 11 in mainland China (about 10%); most named United States 69, Canada 12, Mainland China 11, India 6, United Kingdom 2 (106 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine8.8%
- Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine8.2%
- Breast Lesions and CarcinomasMedicine6.6%
- Soft tissue tumor case studiesMedicine6.3%
- Salivary Gland Tumors Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine5.5%
- Viral-associated cancers and disordersMedicine5.2%
- Neuroendocrine Tumor Research AdvancesMedicine4.4%
- Vascular Tumors and AngiosarcomasMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pathology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.43LetPub ·
- h-index
- 9OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.64OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 40LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 296 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 37 | 37 | 3 |
| 2025 | 43 | 43 | 3 |
| 2024 | 38 | 38 | 69 |
| 2023 | 40 | 40 | 61 |
| 2022 | 98 | 98 | 272 |
| 2021 | 40 | 40 | 100 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
90 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 13 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 13 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 90 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 14 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,420 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,160 / EUR 1,090 / GBP 930 / JPY 143,870 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 880 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
- Head and Neck PathologyDeadline
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Required
Article types accepted12, with length limits
- case reportOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- case reports and case seriesCase Reports and Case Series should conform to the conventional structure of Brief Abstract, Introduction, Case Presentation, Discussion, Conclusion, Patient Co…Length not stated
- editorialOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- images in pathologyImages in Pathology are pictures (gross and/or microscopic) that illustrate a key clinical finding(s) that can be presented in the form of a question. The image…Length not stated
- letterOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- letter to the editorOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- letters to the editorOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- original studiesOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Studies should not exceed 12 pages (6,000 words) of text, 30 pages total, including references, tables and figures. References should be limited to 30 …main text ≤ 6,000 words
- review articlesReview Articles are limited to those focusing on practical topics in diagnostic pathology. Review articles should not exceed 6,000 words of text and 50 referenc…Length not stated
- special issue articlesSpecial Issue Articles are a collection of article focused on a central theme. They are typically invited, and they should follow the review article format. Spe…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Follows Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed; does not count as prior publication Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2772-736X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Human Pathology Reports
What CAS zone is Human Pathology Reports in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Human Pathology Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.1, h-index 9.
How long does peer review take at Human Pathology Reports?
The publisher reports about 90 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Human Pathology Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 1–7; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Human Pathology Reports based?
Of the 106 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 11 (about 10%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (69), Canada (12) and Mainland China (11). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Human Pathology Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Human Pathology Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Human Pathology Reports open access, and what is the APC?
Human Pathology Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,420.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .