Journal profile · INFECTIOUS DISEASES

HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care

ISSN 1179-1373 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,565; median 96 days to acceptance (63 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 31% (journal website); 37 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.5From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time96 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 63 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,565Fully open access
Acceptance31%From the journal's website
Articles per year372025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are HIV/AIDS Research and Interventions, HIV-related health complications and treatments and HIV/AIDS drug development and treatment, together about 51.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Dr. Ogunrin HIV/AIDS - Research and Palliative Care is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on advances in research in HIV, its clinical progression and management options including antiviral treatment, palliative care and public healthcare policies to control viral spread. HIV/AIDS - Research and Palliative Care will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication. Specific topics covered in the journal include: Epidemiology of HIV spread and resistance Diagnostics, early detection and monitoring Identification of viral targets Development of agents with novel mechanisms of action Optimal clinical use of existing antivirals, including combination therapies Vaccine development Management and treatment of associated disorders in AIDS patients including palliative care Patient adherence, quality of life, satisfaction Consumer and patient education and health literacy programs Health economics and public health policy The journal welcomes submitted papers covering original research, basic science, clinical and epidemiological studies, reviews and evaluations, guidelines, expert opinion and commentary, case reports and extended reports. Updated 16 July 2025

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): INFECTIOUS DISEASES

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 27, Iran 2, United Kingdom 1, Australia 1 (31 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. HIV/AIDS Research and InterventionsMedicine29.1%
  2. HIV-related health complications and treatmentsMedicine11.9%
  3. HIV/AIDS drug development and treatmentMedicine10.4%
  4. HIV Research and TreatmentImmunology and Microbiology9.5%
  5. Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive HealthHealth Professions9.4%
  6. HIV, Drug Use, Sexual RiskMedicine4.1%
  7. HIV/AIDS Impact and ResponsesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.1%
  8. Pneumocystis jirovecii pneumonia detection and treatmentMedicine2.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorInfectious DiseasesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorInfectious DiseasesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SJR, CiteScore, Impact FactorPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
3.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
0.99Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.62LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.99LetPub ·
h-index
44OpenAlex ·
i10-index
341OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.45OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
4.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
98.53%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
35LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
103,848Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 675 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202618183
2025373749
20244242186
20236565420
20224848421
20211131131,428

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

96 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 77 days – 121 days

Acceptance to online
median 12 days (63 articles)
Submission to online
median 115 days
Sample
63 articles with submission and acceptance dates (66 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
31%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
46 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,565YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,990Yes—
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics
Publication ethics

Member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) Model summary

This journal is a member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-1373
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care

What CAS zone is HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Infectious Diseases. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 44.

How long does peer review take at HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care?

Based on the dates recorded on 63 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 96 days (interquartile range 77–121 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 31%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care based?

Of the 31 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (27), Iran (2) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care open access, and what is the APC?

HIV AIDS-Research and Palliative Care is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,565.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .