Journal profile · Multiple

History of Education

ISSN 0046-760X · eISSN 1464-5130 · Taylor & Francis

History of Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.8; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 275 days to acceptance (50 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 21% (journal website); 63 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.8Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Education
Review time275 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 50 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance21%From the journal's website
Articles per year632025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

History of Education is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Historical Education Studies Worldwide, Educator Training and Historical Pedagogy and Religious Education and Schools, together about 45.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

History of Education is a UK-based journal that publishes original research in the history of education from all parts of the world. It is associated with the UK History of Education Society. Articles deal with formal and informal education, including – but not restricted to – the history of schooling at all levels, universities, youth movements, adult education, educational ideas and biography, educational reform, and the politics of education. We welcome submissions on all periods of history, including the ancient and medieval worlds. Our peer-reviewed articles are based on primary source research in the history of education. They embody rigorous research and engage with the historiography of education and often other areas of historical scholarship. The word limit for an Article is 10,000 words. This covers all text in the article, including references. A regular special section of the journal, ‘ Workspace: Dialogues, Iterations, Provocations’, features articles that examine specific bodies of source material or explore new ways of interpreting the history of education. The journal also publishes book reviews. History of Education publishes guest-edited special issues and sections. Recent and forthcoming examples include the following: ‘“Education fever”: Korea from the late nineteenth to the twenty-first century’ ‘Education and the life course’ ‘Ambivalent histories: education, ‘race’, and the modernisation of settler/colonial governance in Australasia and the Pacific, 1900s–1960s’ ‘How cybernetics and constructivism inspired new forms of learning’ ‘Cultivating children and youth: transnational explorations of the urban and natural’ ‘Bodies and minds in education’ ‘Celebration, commemoration and collaboration: milestones in the history of education’ ‘Sight, sound and text in the history of education’ Peer Review Policy: All research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United Kingdom 4, Mainland China 1, South Korea 1, Belgium 1, Norway 1 (9 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Historical Education Studies WorldwideSocial Sciences21.1%
  2. Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences12.9%
  3. Religious Education and SchoolsSocial Sciences11.3%
  4. Historical Studies on Reproduction, Gender, Health, and Societal ChangesArts and Humanities6.6%
  5. Historical Education and SocietySocial Sciences6.5%
  6. Australian History and SocietySocial Sciences3.6%
  7. Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3.5%
  8. Diverse Education Studies and ReformsSocial Sciences3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorHistory of Social SciencesZone 3
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 3
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 3
MinorHistory of Social SciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4
MinorHistory of Social SciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ERICPublisher website

Other: Academic Search, Australian Education Index (AEI), British Education Index, EBSCOhost EJS, Education Publishing Company, Educational Research Abstracts online (ERA), Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, ITER-Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance, Research into Higher education abstracts, Sociological Abstracts

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
0.8LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.45LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.45Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.15LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
1.15Publisher website ·
h-index
44OpenAlex ·
i10-index
419OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.44OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
12.5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
23.89%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
34LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
131,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,548 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202670212
2025632219
2024802373
20235314108
20228227194
20216615173

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

275 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 182 days – 442 days

Acceptance to online
median 35 days (50 articles)
Submission to online
median 304 days
Sample
50 articles with submission and acceptance dates (148 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
21%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
116 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
139 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
27 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. articleThe word limit for an Article is 10,000 words. This covers all text in the article, including references.Length not stated
  2. book reviewsThe journal also publishes book reviews.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

History of Education is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Peer review policy Model summary

All research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two anonymous referees.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
0046-760X
Electronic ISSN
1464-5130
Latest issue on the website
Volume 55, Issue 5 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about History of Education

What CAS zone is History of Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, History of Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 3 of the minor category History of Social Sciences / Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of History of Education?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.8; CiteScore 1.4, h-index 44.

How long does peer review take at History of Education?

Based on the dates recorded on 50 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 275 days (interquartile range 182–442 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 21%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of History of Education based?

Of the 9 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (4), Mainland China (1) and South Korea (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index History of Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, History of Education is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is History of Education open access, and what is the APC?

History of Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .