Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-History
Historical Life Course Studies
ISSN 2352-6343 · International Instititute of Social History · Netherlands
Historical Life Course Studies: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 24 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Historical Life Course Studies is published by International Instititute of Social History. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Historical Economic and Social Studies, Insurance, Mortality, Demography, Risk Management and Historical Studies on Reproduction, Gender, Health, and Societal Changes, together about 53.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Demography. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Historical Life Course Studies is a Diamond Open-Access journal dedicated to advancing groundbreaking research on historical population issues. Launched in 2013 as part of the European Historical Population Samples Network (EHPS-Net, funded by the European Science Foundation) the journal is published by the International Institute of Social History (IISH). The journal publishes theoretical, empirical and methodological papers, addressing research problems on historical populations from a historical life course perspective in the fields of history, demography, family studies, sociology, economics, anthropology epidemiology, public health, genetics, anthropology and geography. There are no temporal or geographical boundaries. While priority is given to longitudinal studies using micro-level data on historical populations, cross-sectional studies are also considered. Additionally, we welcome literature reviews, database descriptions, and papers on data transcription, database documentation, as well as technical contributions such as extraction programs, algorithms, and other methodologies for working with large historical databases. The sole criterion for publication in Historical Life Course Studies is academic quality, which is evaluated through a double-blind peer-review process by leading experts in the field. The journal is committed to inclusivity, welcoming scholars from around the world, and actively strives for gender equality. All research is published Open Access, with no publication fees. Indexing Services The journal is indexed in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the Norwegian Register for Scientific Journals, Series and Publishers, Scimago and Scopus Sponsors Historical Life Course Studies is funded by the European Society of Historical Demography (ESHD), the International Network for Historical Demography (HiDo), the International Institute of Social History, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), Lund University and Radboud University.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-History
Editor-in-chief Paul Puschmann AssistantPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Netherlands 3, Sweden 3, Japan 1, France 1, Spain 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Historical Economic and Social StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance27%
- Insurance, Mortality, Demography, Risk ManagementSocial Sciences17.8%
- Historical Studies on Reproduction, Gender, Health, and Societal ChangesArts and Humanities8.8%
- Digital Humanities and ScholarshipArts and Humanities8.1%
- Migration, Health, Geopolitics, Historical GeographySocial Sciences5.8%
- Family Dynamics and RelationshipsSocial Sciences4.6%
- Data Quality and ManagementDecision Sciences3.5%
- Data Analysis and ArchivingSocial Sciences3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| History | Q1 | 54/1936 | — |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.36LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.65LetPub ·
- h-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 27OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.72OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 175 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 25 | 25 | 136 |
| 2025 | 24 | 24 | 174 |
| 2024 | 8 | 8 | 124 |
| 2023 | 14 | 14 | 175 |
| 2022 | 12 | 12 | 92 |
| 2021 | 39 | 39 | 85 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 30 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted3
- articlesArticles Articles Volumes Special Issues Authors Keywords SubmissionsLength not stated
- methodological articlesThis section includes methodological articles that describe all forms of data handling involving large historical databases, including extensive descriptions of…Length not stated
- research articlesThis section includes substantive articles reporting the results of comparative longitudinal studies that are demographic and historical in nature, and that are…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- License & copyright
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Model summary
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Blind review process; manuscripts must not contain author names. Model summary
The manuscript itself should not contain any author-names in order to make sure that the review process is blind.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Only original manuscripts accepted in principle, with limited exceptions. Model summary
In principle Historical Life Course Studies accepts only original manuscripts. Under certain circumstances it is possible to deviate from this rule under the conditions that copyrights are not violated.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Privacy Policy and Responsible Disclosure Policy are available. Model summary
Privacy Policy | Responsible Disclosure Policy
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- International Instititute of Social History
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2352-6343
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 16 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Historical Life Course Studies
How long does peer review take at Historical Life Course Studies?
Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Historical Life Course Studies?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Historical Life Course Studies based?
Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Netherlands (3), Sweden (3) and Japan (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Historical Life Course Studies?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Historical Life Course Studies is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Historical Life Course Studies open access, and what is the APC?
Historical Life Course Studies is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .