Journal profile · Cell Biology
Histochemistry and Cell Biology
ISSN 0948-6143 · eISSN 1432-119X · Springer Berlin Heidelberg · GERMANY · Monthly · Founded 1958
Histochemistry and Cell Biology: CAS Zone 4 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.87; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 86 days to acceptance (76 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 50%; 103 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Histochemistry and Cell Biology is published by Springer Berlin Heidelberg and is in Zone 4 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Glycosylation and Glycoproteins Research, Neuropeptides and Animal Physiology and Cell Adhesion Molecules Research, together about 21.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Histochemistry and Cell Biology is a journal devoted specifically to the field of molecular histology and cell biology. Original Articles and Short Communications dealing with the localization and identification of molecular components, metabolic activities and cell biological aspects of cells and tissues will be published as well as Review Articles. Papers are also welcome that make a substantial contribution to the development, application, and/or evaluation of methods and probes that can be used in the entire area of histochemistry and cell biology. Preference will be given to studies involving experimental approaches and/or a variety of different methods that help to characterize and quantify molecular constituents, dynamic properties and functional aspects of cellular and extracellular structures.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Cell Biology
Editor-in-chief Jürgen RothPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 8%); most named Germany 20, United States 10, Japan 10, Mainland China 6, Switzerland 6 (73 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Glycosylation and Glycoproteins ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology8.4%
- Neuropeptides and Animal PhysiologyNeuroscience6.8%
- Cell Adhesion Molecules ResearchMedicine6.7%
- Pancreatic function and diabetesMedicine5.4%
- Molecular Biology Techniques and ApplicationsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.1%
- Cellular transport and secretionBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.9%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience4.5%
- Receptor Mechanisms and SignalingBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microscopy | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microscopy | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microscopy | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, AGRICOLA, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.87LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.83LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.73LetPub ·
- h-index
- 92LetPub ·
- h-index
- 165OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 5,201OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.72OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 38.82%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 88LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 793,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,992 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 88 | 51 | 33 |
| 2025 | 103 | 47 | 209 |
| 2024 | 95 | 53 | 536 |
| 2023 | 84 | 52 | 710 |
| 2022 | 116 | 63 | 971 |
| 2021 | 108 | 80 | 1,266 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
86 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 64 days – 130 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 24 days (84 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 109 days
- Sample
- 76 articles with submission and acceptance dates (233 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 50%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,990 / EUR 4,690 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted6
- original articleOriginal articles: There is no strict page limit, but we advise a maximum length of up to 20 printed pages (approx. 95,000 characters including references, not …Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles: There is no strict page limit, but we advise a maximum length of up to 20 printed pages (approx. 95,000 characters including references, not …Length not stated
- reviewOriginal articles: There is no strict page limit, but we advise a maximum length of up to 20 printed pages (approx. 95,000 characters including references, not …Length not stated
- reviewsReviews: Should address issues relevant to a wide readership and intelligible to non-specialists. We advise a maximum length of up to 20 printed pages (approx. …Length not stated
- short communicationOriginal articles: There is no strict page limit, but we advise a maximum length of up to 20 printed pages (approx. 95,000 characters including references, not …Length not stated
- short communications (sc)Short Communications (SC): The length of a SC is limited to approx. 20,000 characters (not counting spaces), which does NOT include the Materials and methods.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
LLMs cannot be authors Model summary
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability statements
Data transparency Model summary
All original research must include a data availability statement. This statement should explain how to access data supporting the results and analysis in the article, including links/citations to publicly archived datasets analysed or generated during the study. Please see our full policy here. If it is not possible to share research data publicly, for instance when individual privacy could be com…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
Human and Animal Rights statement required Model summary
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Permissions required for previously published material Model summary
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Histochemistry and Cell Biology, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Reviewer suggestion/exclusion allowed Model summary
Authors are welcome to suggest suitable reviewers and/or request the exclusion of certain individuals when they submit their manuscripts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Berlin Heidelberg
- Country or region
- GERMANY
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1958
- ISSN
- 0948-6143
- Electronic ISSN
- 1432-119X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Histochemistry and Cell Biology
What CAS zone is Histochemistry and Cell Biology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Histochemistry and Cell Biology is in Zone 4 of Biology, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Microscopy / Cell Biology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Histochemistry and Cell Biology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.87; CiteScore 4.8, h-index 165.
How long does peer review take at Histochemistry and Cell Biology?
Based on the dates recorded on 76 articles published between September 2024 and September 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 86 days (interquartile range 64–130 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 50%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Histochemistry and Cell Biology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Reference style: Author–date; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Histochemistry and Cell Biology based?
Of the 73 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Germany (20), United States (10) and Japan (10). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Histochemistry and Cell Biology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Histochemistry and Cell Biology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Histochemistry and Cell Biology open access, and what is the APC?
Histochemistry and Cell Biology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .