Journal profile · Neurosciences
Hippocampus
ISSN 1050-9631 · eISSN 1098-1063 · Wiley-Liss Inc. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1991
Hippocampus: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.71; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,780; median 164 days to acceptance (89 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 71 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Hippocampus is published by Wiley-Liss Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, Memory and Neural Mechanisms and Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanisms, together about 59.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Hippocampus provides a forum for the exchange of current information between investigators interested in the neurobiology of the hippocampal formation and related structures. While the relationships of submitted papers to the hippocampal formation will be evaluated liberally, the substance of appropriate papers should deal with the hippocampal formation per se or with the interaction between the hippocampal formation and other brain regions. The scope of Hippocampus is wide: single and multidisciplinary experimental studies from all fields of basic science, theoretical papers, papers dealing with hippocampal preparations as models for understanding the central nervous system, and clinical studies will be considered for publication. The Editor especially encourages the submission of papers that contribute to a functional understanding of the hippocampal formation.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences
Editor-in-chief Michael E. HasselmoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 55, United Kingdom 11, Canada 4, Japan 2, South Korea 2 (86 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience27%
- Memory and Neural MechanismsNeuroscience25.5%
- Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience7.1%
- Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience5.7%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience4.7%
- Stress Responses and CortisolNeuroscience3.6%
- Sleep and Wakefulness ResearchNeuroscience3.5%
- Memory Processes and InfluencesNeuroscience3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbasePsycINFOCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.71LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- h-index
- 139LetPub ·
- h-index
- 218OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,901OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.93OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 13.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 52.46%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 44LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 54Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 316,762Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,182 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 82 | 62 | 33 |
| 2025 | 71 | 56 | 168 |
| 2024 | 103 | 76 | 549 |
| 2023 | 126 | 90 | 1,066 |
| 2022 | 93 | 46 | 832 |
| 2021 | 119 | 53 | 1,512 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
164 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 122 days – 258 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 16 days (90 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 180 days
- Sample
- 89 articles with submission and acceptance dates (180 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 42%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 42%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 27 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 27 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 168 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 12 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,780 / EUR 4,100 / GBP 3,410 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted3
- commentaryCommentariesLength not stated
- research articleResearch ArticlesLength not stated
- review articleReview ArticlesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Preprints
- Authorship
Free format submission offered Model summary
Hippocampus now offers Free Format submission for a simplified and streamlined submission process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy: preprints allowed Model summary
Hippocampus will consider submissions that have previously been made available online, either on a preprint server like arXiv, bioRxiv, or PeerJ PrePrints, or on the authors' own website.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Liss Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1991
- ISSN
- 1050-9631
- Electronic ISSN
- 1098-1063
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 16, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Hippocampus
What CAS zone is Hippocampus in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Hippocampus is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Hippocampus?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.71; CiteScore 5.2, h-index 218.
How long does peer review take at Hippocampus?
Based on the dates recorded on 89 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 164 days (interquartile range 122–258 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 42% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Hippocampus based?
Of the 86 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (55), United Kingdom (11) and Canada (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Hippocampus?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Hippocampus is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, PsycINFO, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Hippocampus open access, and what is the APC?
Hippocampus is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,780.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .