Journal profile · Multiple
Hipertextnet
ISSN 1695-5498 · Universitat Pompeu Fabra · Spain
Hipertextnet: CAS Zone 4 · Literature (2026 Xinrui edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 4 weeks (community reports); 29 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Hipertextnet is published by Universitat Pompeu Fabra and is classed under Literature in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Communication and COVID-19 Impact, Media and Digital Communication and Advertising and Communication Studies, together about 50% of its articles. Its main subfields are Communication. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Hipertext.net provides a forum for the dissemination of research in the Information Sciences and Social Communication, and, in particular, multidisciplinary studies that combine or incorporate the interests of one or other of these fields.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Pere FreixaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Spain 23, United States 5, Argentina 5, Mexico 3, Chile 3 (44 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Communication and COVID-19 ImpactSocial Sciences21.7%
- Media and Digital CommunicationComputer Science16.6%
- Advertising and Communication StudiesSocial Sciences11.7%
- Radio, Podcasts, and Digital MediaSocial Sciences8.4%
- Digital Games and MediaSocial Sciences5.4%
- Journalism and Media StudiesSocial Sciences4.9%
- E-Learning and Knowledge ManagementComputer Science3.8%
- Scientific Research and TechnologyComputer Science2.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Literature Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Literature | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Communication | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 13OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.36OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 14.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 97.78%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 28LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 223 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 17 | 0 |
| 2025 | 29 | 29 | 9 |
| 2024 | 29 | 29 | 18 |
| 2023 | 33 | 33 | 106 |
| 2022 | 21 | 21 | 61 |
| 2021 | 23 | 23 | 46 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 4 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 4 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 200–250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 9,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted4, with length limits
- articlesPapers submitted for publication in the Articles and Reports sections should be between 4,000 and 9,000 words in length, including references.Length not stated
- lettercripts submitted for publication in the Letters section should be between 1,500 and 3,000 words. PUBLICATION DATES. Hipertext.net is published twice a yearmain text ≤ 3,000 words
- lettersManuscripts submitted for publication in the Letters section should be between 1,500 and 3,000 words.Length not stated
- reportsPapers submitted for publication in the Articles and Reports sections should be between 4,000 and 9,000 words in length, including references.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 Model summary
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access Model summary
Hipertext.net makes all our publications immediately available online, ensuring authors can publish their articles open access in institutional repositories and in social and academic networks.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Universitat Pompeu Fabra
- Country or region
- Spain
- Language
- Spanish, English
- ISSN
- 1695-5498
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Hipertextnet
What CAS zone is Hipertextnet in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Literature. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Hipertextnet?
Authors report an average review time of about 4 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Hipertextnet?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 200–250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 9,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Hipertextnet based?
Of the 44 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Spain (23), United States (5) and Argentina (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Hipertextnet?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Hipertextnet is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.
Is Hipertextnet open access, and what is the APC?
Hipertextnet is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .