Journal profile · Energy-Energy Engineering and Power Technology
High Voltage
ISSN 2397-7264 · The Institution of Engineering and Technology · United Kingdom
High Voltage: CAS Zone 2 · Engineering (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.49; fully open access; APC about USD 2,200; median 123 days to acceptance (78 articles, last 24 months); 163 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
High Voltage is published by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and is in Zone 2 of Engineering in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are High voltage insulation and dielectric phenomena, Power Transformer Diagnostics and Insulation and Lightning and Electromagnetic Phenomena, together about 48.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
High Voltage aims to attract original research papers and review articles. The scope covers high-voltage power engineering and high voltage applications, including experimental, computational (including simulation and modelling) and theoretical studies, which include: Electrical Insulation Outdoor, indoor, solid, liquid and gas insulation Transient voltages and overvoltage protection Nano-dielectrics and new insulation materials Condition monitoring and maintenance Discharge and Plasmas, Pulsed Power Electrical discharge, plasma generation and applications Interactions of plasma with surfaces Pulsed power science and technology High-Field Effects Computation, measurements of Intensive Electromagnetic Field Electromagnetic compatibility Biomedical effects Environmental effects and protection High Voltage Engineering Design problems, testing and measuring techniques Equipment development and asset management Smart Grid, live line working AC/DC power electronics UHV power transmission Bibliographic Information: Online ISSN: 2397-7264 Print ISSN: 2096-9813 DOI: 10.1049/2397-7264 CN Number: 10-1725/TM Abstracting and Indexing Information: COMPENDEX (Elsevier) Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) INSPEC (IET) Open Access Journal Index – OAJ (NSLC & CEPIEC) Science Citation Index Expanded (Clarivate Analytics) SCOPUS (Elsevier)
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Energy-Energy Engineering and Power Technology
Editor-in-chief Weijiang ChenPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 79 in mainland China (about 56%); most named Mainland China 79, United Kingdom 10, United States 8, Japan 6, South Korea 3 (140 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- High voltage insulation and dielectric phenomenaMaterials Science27.4%
- Power Transformer Diagnostics and InsulationEngineering13.8%
- Lightning and Electromagnetic PhenomenaPhysics and Astronomy7.5%
- Dielectric materials and actuatorsEngineering6%
- Electrical Fault Detection and ProtectionEngineering5.1%
- Thermal Analysis in Power TransmissionEngineering4.5%
- HVDC Systems and Fault ProtectionEngineering3.7%
- Aerosol Filtration and Electrostatic PrecipitationEngineering3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Engineering Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Engineering | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Engineering, Electrical & Electronic | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Engineering Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Engineering | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Engineering, Electrical & Electronic | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Engineering Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Engineering | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Engineering, Electrical & Electronic | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EI CompendexINSPECPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.49LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.7Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 10.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 10.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 10.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.35LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.37LetPub ·
- h-index
- 60OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 528OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.7OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 22.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 137LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 141Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 315,044Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,071 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 116 | 116 | 67 |
| 2025 | 163 | 163 | 554 |
| 2024 | 125 | 125 | 1,279 |
| 2023 | 97 | 97 | 1,668 |
| 2022 | 126 | 126 | 2,471 |
| 2021 | 118 | 118 | 2,663 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
123 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 99 days – 152 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 218 days (78 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 325 days
- Sample
- 78 articles with submission and acceptance dates (284 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 21 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 21 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,700 / USD 2,200 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-ND, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,200 / EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,700 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- editorialThe following article types are included in High Voltage: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Papers that only contain simula…Length not stated
- opinionThe following article types are included in High Voltage: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Papers that only contain simula…Length not stated
- original researchThe following article types are included in High Voltage: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Papers that only contain simula…Length not stated
- original research paperThe following article types are included in High Voltage: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Papers that only contain simula…Length not stated
- reviewThe following article types are included in High Voltage: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Papers that only contain simula…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
For a complete overview of our Ethical Policies for the IET journals, please click here. The IET believes in clear, transparent and verifiable authorship. All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version. Where possible, please use institutional email addresses for all authors listed on your manuscript. If we are unable to co…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
IET journals expects data sharing. Please review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is your responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms and Conditions FAQ. The corresponding author is responsible for obtaining written permission to reproduce the material "in print an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 1. Open Access
Gold Open Access Model summary
All IET journals are Gold Open Access titles. Submissions will be subject to an APC if accepted and published in the journal. You can read more about APCs and whether you may be eligible for waivers or discounts, through your institution, funder, or a country waiver. There is no charge for submitting to IET journals.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 5. Peer Review and Decisions
Single-anonymized peer review model Model summary
High Voltage operates under a single-anonymized peer review model. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief (or designated Editor) determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. The final decision to publish is made by the Editor-in-Chief. This is applicable to all submissions, including those for special issues. This is applicable to all submi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint Policy
Please find the Wiley preprint policy here. All IET journals accept articles previously published on preprint servers. All IET journals will consider review articles previously available as preprints. You are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article. You may also post the final published version of the article immediately after publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- The Institution of Engineering and Technology
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2397-7264
- Print ISSN
- 2096-9813
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 11, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about High Voltage
What CAS zone is High Voltage in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, High Voltage is in Zone 2 of Engineering, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Engineering, Electrical & Electronic. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Engineering. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of High Voltage?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.49; CiteScore 10.7, h-index 60.
How long does peer review take at High Voltage?
Based on the dates recorded on 78 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 123 days (interquartile range 99–152 days); authors report an average review time of about 21 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of High Voltage based?
Of the 140 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 79 (about 56%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (79), United Kingdom (10) and United States (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index High Voltage?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, High Voltage is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex and INSPEC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is High Voltage open access, and what is the APC?
High Voltage is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,200.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .