Journal profile · Medicine-Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine
HeartRhythm Case Reports
ISSN 2214-0271 · Elsevier · United States
HeartRhythm Case Reports: impact factor 7 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,270; review about 74 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 326 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
HeartRhythm Case Reports is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Arrhythmias and Treatments, Cardiac pacing and defibrillation studies and Cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmias, together about 60.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
HeartRhythm Case Reports, one of two open access companion journals to Heart Rhythm, provides rapid online electronic publication of the most important current case reports, illustrations, and educational vignettes in the field of cardiac arrhythmias and electrophysiology. The journal publishes case reports and series devoted to the diagnosis and treatment of heart rhythm disorders, as well as the electrophysiology of the heart and blood vessels. All articles are peer-reviewed. The Journal is published online only with open access. Research and review articles and short reports can be submitted to the Journal's companion title, HeartRhythm O2.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine
Editor-in-chief Rahul N. DoshiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 73, Japan 10, Australia 6, Germany 4, Poland 3 (119 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Arrhythmias and TreatmentsMedicine27.8%
- Cardiac pacing and defibrillation studiesMedicine18%
- Cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmiasMedicine14.5%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine12.8%
- Cardiovascular Syncope and Autonomic DisordersMedicine2.9%
- Cardiac Structural Anomalies and RepairMedicine2.8%
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine2.4%
- Cardiovascular Effects of ExerciseMedicine2.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.31LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- h-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 223OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.75OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,575 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 268 | 268 | 37 |
| 2025 | 326 | 326 | 283 |
| 2024 | 260 | 260 | 318 |
| 2023 | 250 | 250 | 514 |
| 2022 | 216 | 216 | 616 |
| 2021 | 219 | 219 | 645 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 7 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 30 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 28 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 74 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 25 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,270 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,100 / EUR 1,030 / GBP 880 / JPY 136,430 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,100 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,590 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- ≥ 5
- Reference style
- AMA
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- case reportCase ReportsSubmissions should be limited to 6 authors (if there are more than 6, please provide an explanation in the cover letter) with a suggested length of …Length not stated
- case reportsCase ReportsSubmissions should be limited to 6 authors (if there are more than 6, please provide an explanation in the cover letter) with a suggested length of …Length not stated
- commentaryCase ReportsSubmissions should be limited to 6 authors (if there are more than 6, please provide an explanation in the cover letter) with a suggested length of …Length not stated
- imagesSubmissions to "Electrophysiology Images and Movies" are limited to 4 authors, 1500 words, and no more than 2 figures. No abstract should be included.Length not stated
- letterCase ReportsSubmissions should be limited to 6 authors (if there are more than 6, please provide an explanation in the cover letter) with a suggested length of …main text ≤ 2,500 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Declaration of generative AI use required Model summary
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
Declaration of interests required Model summary
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Copyright held by Heart Rhythm Society; Exclusive License Agreement Model summary
Copyright to all published articles will be held by the Heart Rhythm Society. Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete an 'Exclusive License Agreement' (for more information see https://www.elsevier.com/OAauthoragreement). Permitted third party reuse of Open Access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license (see https://www.elsevier.com/openaccesslicenses…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper, frequently under the direction of a section editor with expertise in the manuscript topic. The Editor is responsible …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2214-0271
- Society / sponsor
- Heart Rhythm Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about HeartRhythm Case Reports
What is the impact factor of HeartRhythm Case Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 7; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.1, h-index 28.
How long does peer review take at HeartRhythm Case Reports?
The publisher reports about 74 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of HeartRhythm Case Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 5; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of HeartRhythm Case Reports based?
Of the 119 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (73), Japan (10) and Australia (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index HeartRhythm Case Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, HeartRhythm Case Reports is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is HeartRhythm Case Reports open access, and what is the APC?
HeartRhythm Case Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,270.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .