Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Heart Lung and Circulation
ISSN 1443-9506 · eISSN 1444-2892 · Elsevier Ltd · AUSTRALIA · Bimonthly · Founded 2000
Heart Lung and Circulation: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.18; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,260; median 137 days to acceptance (114 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy (Elsevier website: 26%); 1,507 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Heart Lung and Circulation is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Valve Diseases and Treatments, Cardiac Imaging and Diagnostics and Cardiovascular Function and Risk Factors, together about 24.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Heart, Lung and Circulation is published by Elsevier for the Australian and New Zealand Society of Cardiac and Thoracic Surgeons and the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand.Heart, Lung and Circulation publishes articles integrating clinical and research activities in the fields of clinical cardiology, cardiac and thoracic surgery, and basic and translational cardiovascular science, with a focus on emerging issues in cardiovascular disease and therapy. The journal promotes multidisciplinary dialogue between cardiologists, cardiothoracic surgeons, cardio-pulmonary and intensive care physicians, cardiovascular nurses, cardiac perfusionists, and cardiovascular scientists.The journal accepts original articles, reviews, brief communications, and letters to the Editor, concerned with clinical practice and research in cardiovascular disease and clinical therapeutic management.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Salvatore Pepe MelbournePublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 139, New Zealand 18, United States 9, Singapore 2, United Kingdom 1 (171 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine9.1%
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine8.8%
- Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine6.8%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine5.7%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine5.4%
- Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine4.9%
- Cardiac Arrhythmias and TreatmentsMedicine4.8%
- Cardiac pacing and defibrillation studiesMedicine4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.18LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.65LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.81LetPub ·
- h-index
- 38LetPub ·
- h-index
- 81OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,779OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.31OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 33.19%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 135LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 25,277 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1,525 | 1,252 | 90 |
| 2025 | 1,507 | 1,061 | 470 |
| 2024 | 1,574 | 1,148 | 888 |
| 2023 | 1,336 | 926 | 1,460 |
| 2022 | 976 | 234 | 1,656 |
| 2021 | 1,034 | 130 | 2,469 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
137 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 75 days – 195 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 136 days (107 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 274 days
- Sample
- 114 articles with submission and acceptance dates (503 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 26%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 9 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 52 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 119 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 101 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,260 / EUR 3,050 / GBP 2,610 / JPY 404,340 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 2
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,500 words
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- commentaryCommentaries are commissioned evidence-based or opinion articles that discuss articles published in the journal or topics of current interest. Word Count Maximu…main text ≤ 3,000 words · references ≤ 25
- consensus statements, position statements and guidelinesHeart, Lung and Circulation considers manuscripts in the following categories:Original Articles Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses Narrative and Scoping Revie…Length not stated
- discussion or commentary (invitation only)Heart, Lung and Circulation considers manuscripts in the following categories:Original Articles Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses Narrative and Scoping Revie…Length not stated
- editorialEditorials are commissioned articles commenting on topics of current importance or articles published in the journal. Word Count Maximum 2,500 words, including …main text ≤ 2,500 words
- editorials (invitation only)Heart, Lung and Circulation considers manuscripts in the following categories:Original Articles Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses Narrative and Scoping Revie…Length not stated
- focused research reportsHeart, Lung and Circulation considers manuscripts in the following categories:Original Articles Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses Narrative and Scoping Revie…Length not stated
- how-to-do-it imagesHeart, Lung and Circulation considers manuscripts in the following categories:Original Articles Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses Narrative and Scoping Revie…Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters provide comments on articles published in the journal or discuss issues of interest to readers. Word Count Maximum 500 words, including references forma…main text ≤ 500 words
- narrative and scoping reviewsNarrative Reviews and Scoping Reviews provide comprehensive overviews of topics relevant to cardiovascular medicine.Length not stated
- original articleOriginal Articles report original clinical, translational or basic science research relevant to cardiovascular medicine and surgery. Word Count Maximum 4,500 wo…main text ≤ 4,500 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- original articlesOriginal Articles report original clinical, translational or basic science research relevant to cardiovascular medicine and surgery.Length not stated
- systematic reviewSystematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses provide a comprehensive, structured synthesis of the available evidence using systematic review methodology. Meta-Analyses …main text ≤ 6,500 words · abstract ≤ 250 words · references ≤ 80
- systematic reviews and meta-analysesSystematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses provide a comprehensive, structured synthesis of the available evidence using systematic review methodology.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting Guidelines
Authors should follow the appropriate EQUATOR Network reporting guideline where applicable. Please upload the appropriate and completed Reporting Guideline Checklist and/or flow diagram using the “Reporting checklist” and “Reporting flow diagram” submission item types. When presenting randomised controlled trials, authors must follow CONSORT guidelines, and provide the CONSORT checklist at manuscr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ltd
- Country or region
- AUSTRALIA
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 2000
- ISSN
- 1443-9506
- Electronic ISSN
- 1444-2892
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Heart Lung and Circulation
What CAS zone is Heart Lung and Circulation in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Heart Lung and Circulation is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Heart Lung and Circulation?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.18; CiteScore 3.7, h-index 81.
How long does peer review take at Heart Lung and Circulation?
Based on the dates recorded on 114 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 137 days (interquartile range 75–195 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy (Elsevier website: 26%)”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Heart Lung and Circulation?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 2; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,500 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Heart Lung and Circulation based?
Of the 171 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (139), New Zealand (18) and United States (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Heart Lung and Circulation?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Heart Lung and Circulation is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Heart Lung and Circulation open access, and what is the APC?
Heart Lung and Circulation is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,260.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .