Journal profile · Nursing-General Nursing
Health Professions Education
ISSN 2452-3011 · Elsevier · China
Health Professions Education: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 38 weeks (community reports); 62 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Health Professions Education is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Innovations in Medical Education, Health and Medical Education and Healthcare professionals’ stress and burnout, together about 49.5% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Unlike most journals in the field, Health Professions Education is a multidisciplinary journal the seeks to contribute to theory and research inviting manuscripts from the full panorama of the field of health professionals’ education. The journal focused on the science of health professions education in term of theories of learning, curriculum, assessment, instructional methods, evaluation, leadership in academia, faculty development and innovation in the health profession education field. Papers could have the form of a case study, a description of a new approach to teaching or assessment, report of initial data of an ongoing innovation, original research, review articles, systematic reviews and meta-analysis...etc. We invite researchers as well to submit papers that contain (a) replications of landmark studies in the field, (b) non-significant findings of interesting hypotheses, and (c) papers reporting the development and evaluation of new measuring instruments for use in health professions education.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nursing-General Nursing
Editor-in-chief Somaya HosnyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Saudi Arabia 4, Netherlands 1, Egypt 1 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine38.1%
- Health and Medical EducationHealth Professions6.2%
- Healthcare professionals’ stress and burnoutHealth Professions5.1%
- Clinical Reasoning and Diagnostic SkillsMedicine4.9%
- Medical Education and AdmissionsMedicine4.8%
- Problem and Project Based LearningSocial Sciences3.8%
- Diversity and Career in MedicineSocial Sciences3.7%
- Empathy and Medical EducationMedicine3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Medicine | Q3 | 459/669 | 31st |
| General Nursing | Q4 | 117/144 | 19th |
| Education | Q4 | 1387/1698 | 18th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- h-index
- 33OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 97OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.91OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 203,406Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 429 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 55 | 55 | 518 |
| 2025 | 62 | 62 | 737 |
| 2024 | 55 | 55 | 951 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 935 |
| 2022 | 14 | 14 | 841 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 801 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 38 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 3–5
- Reference style
- AMA
Article types accepted12
- case studyCase study describe unique or noteworthy educational cases/situation, providing valuable insights for health professions educators. Word limit: 1,000-2000 words…Length not stated
- commentariesCommentaries provide expert insights and opinions on specific topics or recent publications. Word limit: 1,200-1,800 words Figures and tables: 1 figure or table…Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials are invited either from editorial board members or renowned experts in the field only; no student editorials will be entertained. Word limit: up to 1…Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters should be brief and to the point, focusing on a specific issue or recent publication within past four month. Word limit: up to 800 words Figures and tab…Length not stated
- mini reviewsMini reviews offer a concise summary of recent developments in a specific area of research. Word limit: 3,000-4,000 words Figures and tables: Up to 04 combined …Length not stated
- original research articleOriginal Research Articles: Original research articles present new, unpublished findings from empirical studies or theoretical work.Length not stated
- original research articlesOriginal research articles present new, unpublished findings from empirical studies or theoretical work. Word limit: 3,000-4,000 words Figures and tables: Up to…Length not stated
- perspectivesPerspective articles offer expert opinions on current trends, controversies, or future directions in the field. Word limit: 1,000-1,800 words Figures and tables…Length not stated
- practice briefsPractice briefs provide practical guidance and recommendations for implementing research findings in real-world setting. Word limit: 1,200-2,500 words Figures a…Length not stated
- review articles (including systematic and meta-analysis)Review articles provide a comprehensive overview and critical analysis of existing literature on a specific topic. Word limit: 4,000-7,000 words Figures and tab…Length not stated
- short reportsShort reports present preliminary findings or limited-scope studies in a concise format. Word limit: 1,000-2,000 words Figures and tables: Up to 2 combined Abst…Length not stated
- technical notesTechnical notes describe new methodologies, techniques, or tools relevant to the field. Word limit: 1,500-2,500 words Figures and tables: Up to 3 combined Abstr…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access
- Conflicts of interest Declaration of Interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Articles submitted to the journal should not have been published before in their current or substantially similar form or be under consideration for publication with another journal. Authors submitting articles for publication warrant that the work is not an infringement of any existing copyright and will indemnify the publisher against any breach of such warranty. This is an open access journal. …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Model summary
This is an open access journal. All works are published under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0), which means that all content is freely available without charge to the user or his/her institution.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- China
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2452-3011
- Society / sponsor
- Association of Medical Education of the Eastern-Mediterranean Region
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Health Professions Education
How long does peer review take at Health Professions Education?
Authors report an average review time of about 38 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Health Professions Education?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–5; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Health Professions Education based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Saudi Arabia (4), Netherlands (1) and Egypt (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Health Professions Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Health Professions Education is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Health Professions Education open access, and what is the APC?
Health Professions Education is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .