Journal profile · Medicine-Medicine (all)
Health literacy research and practice
ISSN 2474-8307 · Slack Incorporated · United States
Health literacy research and practice: impact factor 1.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; review about 36 weeks (community reports); 16 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Health literacy research and practice is published by Slack Incorporated. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Health Literacy and Information Accessibility, Mobile Health and mHealth Applications and Patient-Provider Communication in Healthcare, together about 58.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice, the official journal of the Institute for Healthcare Advancement, is an online-only, open access journal dedicated to the dissemination of high-quality behavioral and clinical research that bridges research with best practices. The journal publishes articles from a full range of investigators and practitioners engaged in health literacy research and practice, including those involved in a broad array of public health, health services, epidemiology, translational, educational, and interventional research and implementation activities. This interdisciplinary and international journal promotes excellence in research and practice to advance the field of health literacy, promote health equity, and reduce health disparities. HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice is an open access publication, meaning all articles are made freely available online immediately on publication in exchange for payment of an article processing charge (APC) at article acceptance. SLACK Incorporated’s Open Access Publication Policy can be found at journals.healio.com/open-access. HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice is owned by the Institute for Healthcare Advancement. The Institute partners with SLACK Incorporated to manage and produce the journal. ONLINE ISSN: 2474-8307 Indexing HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice is indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed, PubMed Central, Directory of Open Access Journals, SCOPUS, and ProQuest. 2025 Impact Factor 1.6 2025 CiteScore™: 3.8 Social Media Follow @hlrpjournal on X Like and follow Slack Journals on Facebook Connect with Institute for Healthcare Advancement on LinkedIn Connect with Slack Journals on LinkedIn
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Medicine (all)
Editor-in-chief Michael K. Paasche-OrlowPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 20, United Kingdom 2, Hong Kong, China 1, Taiwan, China 1, Australia 1 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Health Literacy and Information AccessibilityHealth Professions39.2%
- Mobile Health and mHealth ApplicationsHealth Professions10.3%
- Patient-Provider Communication in HealthcareHealth Professions9%
- Social Media in Health EducationSocial Sciences7.5%
- Health Education and ValidationSocial Sciences3.4%
- Medication Adherence and ComplianceMedicine2.8%
- Vaccine Coverage and HesitancySocial Sciences2.6%
- Breastfeeding Practices and InfluencesMedicine2.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPMCPubMedPublisher website
Other: ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.66LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0LetPub ·
- h-index
- 38OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 117OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.36OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 96.67%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 14LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 304 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 17 | 2 |
| 2025 | 16 | 16 | 14 |
| 2024 | 34 | 34 | 75 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 129 |
| 2022 | 38 | 38 | 428 |
| 2021 | 38 | 38 | 651 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 36 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 82 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 36 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,000 | No | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,000 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,000 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- 3–5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted11
- best practiceBest Practice: Descriptions of programs or activities with the aim of sharing lessons learned.Length not stated
- brief reportHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- letterHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- meta-analysisHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- mission and motivationMission and Motivation: True stories of powerful experiences that have influenced the author’s work.Length not stated
- opinionHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- original researchHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- original research-qualitativeOriginal Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, including clinical trials, instrument development and testing, and qualitative studies.Length not stated
- perspectiveHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- reviewHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
- systematic reviewHLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice publishes the following article types. Original Research and Original Research-Qualitative: Original research, inclu…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Use of Artificial Intelligence
AI policies in SLACK Author Hub; addresses AI authorship and disclosure. Model summary
You can find our Artificial Intelligence Policies in the SLACK Author Hub. These policies address whether artificial intelligence (AI) can be considered an author and outline permitted uses of AI in manuscript preparation and whether disclosure of such use is required. A clear, easy-to-use chart is provided.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
The SLACK Journals Authorship Policy can be found in the SLACK Author Hub. The journal does not allow ghost authorship, where an unnamed author prepares the article with no credit, or guest/gift authorship, where an author who made little or no contribution is listed as an author. The journal follows Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) guidance on investigating and resolving these cases.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest License Agreement and Conflict of Interest Disclosure
Articles accepted by HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice are made fully open access immediately upon publication and are freely available to read, download, and share. Copyright of articles published in HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice is retained by the author(s). By completing a License Agreement (ONE per article), authors grant SLACK Incorporated a license to publish the arti…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Adheres to ICMJE Recommendations (2025) and COPE guidance. Model summary
This journal adheres to the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (2025) of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), and we are committed to following Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) guidance to promote integrity in research and its publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License Agreement and Conflict of Interest Disclosure
Articles accepted by HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice are made fully open access immediately upon publication and are freely available to read, download, and share. Copyright of articles published in HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice is retained by the author(s). By completing a License Agreement (ONE per article), authors grant SLACK Incorporated a license to publish the arti…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Explanation of Open Access and Associated Fees
You can find a full description of the open access process at journals.healio.com/open-access. In brief, publication in a full open access journal — like HLRP: Health Literacy Research and Practice — means all articles are made freely available online immediately on publication in exchange for payment of an article processing charge (APC) at article acceptance. The table below aims to clarify term…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Review Process
Double-anonymous peer review; manuscripts must not include identifying information. Model summary
Manuscripts that pass the Research Integrity Checks and Quality Checks are sent to at least two qualified external peer reviewers for double-anonymous peer review. Double-anonymous peer review means the reviewers do not know the author(s) of the paper, and the author does not know the reviewers. Once all external peer reviews have been completed, the manuscript is returned to the Editor for evalua…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Previous Publication, including Preprints
Previous publication and preprint policies in SLACK Author Hub. Model summary
Our policies around Previous Publication, including Preprints can be found in the SLACK Author Hub. There you can find clarification regarding manuscript originality, simultaneous submission, previously published articles related to the current submission, and pre-submission posting in preprint servers and/or repositories.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Style Guide and Reporting Guidelines
Clinical trial registration per ICMJE policies; registration number required in cover letter. Model summary
Manuscripts should be prepared following the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition, and spelling should reflect Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. To assure that studies with various methods are appropriately presented, the journal strongly recommends authors use standard formats as described by the Equator Network. Authors are strongly encouraged to use …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Slack Incorporated
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2474-8307
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 10 (July 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Health literacy research and practice
What is the impact factor of Health literacy research and practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.8, h-index 38.
How long does peer review take at Health literacy research and practice?
Authors report an average review time of about 36 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Health literacy research and practice?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: 3–5; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Health literacy research and practice based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (20), United Kingdom (2) and Hong Kong, China (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Health literacy research and practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Health literacy research and practice is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Health literacy research and practice open access, and what is the APC?
Health literacy research and practice is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .