Journal profile · MEDICAL INFORMATICS
Health and Technology
ISSN 2190-7188 · eISSN 2190-7196 · Springer Nature · 6 issues per year
Health and Technology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.6 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,490; median 123 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); 98 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Health and Technology is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mobile Health and mHealth Applications, Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and Electronic Health Records Systems, together about 22.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Health and Technology is the first truly cross-disciplinary journal on issues related to health technologies addressing all professions relating to health, care and health technology. The journal constitutes an information platform connecting medical technology and informatics with the needs of care, health care professionals and patients. Thus, medical physicists and biomedical/clinical engineers are encouraged to write articles not only for their colleagues, but directed to all other groups of readers as well, and vice versa. By its nature, the journal presents and discusses hot subjects including but not limited to patient safety, patient empowerment, disease surveillance and management, e-health and issues concerning data security, privacy, reliability and management, data mining and knowledge exchange as well as health prevention. The journal also addresses the medical, financial, social, educational and safety aspects of health technologies as well as health technology assessment and management, including issues such security, efficacy, cost in comparison to the benefit, as well as social, legal and ethical implications. This journal is a communicative source for the health work force (physicians, nurses, medical physicists, clinical engineers, biomedical engineers, hospital engineers, etc.), the ministries of health, hospital management, self-employed doctors, health care providers and regulatory agencies, the medical technology industry, patients' associations, universities (biomedical and clinical engineering, medical physics, medical informatics, biology, medicine and public health as well as health economics programs), research institutes and professional, scientific and technical organizations. Health and Technology is jointly published by Springer and the IUPESM (International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine) in cooperation with the World Health Organization.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): MEDICAL INFORMATICS
Editor-in-chief Kang-Ping LinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named Taiwan, China 3, United Kingdom 3, Italy 2, Argentina 2, Mainland China 1 (23 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Mobile Health and mHealth ApplicationsHealth Professions9.4%
- Artificial Intelligence in HealthcareHealth Professions6.9%
- Electronic Health Records SystemsHealth Professions6%
- Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and EducationMedicine5.6%
- COVID-19 diagnosis using AIMedicine5.6%
- Advanced Radiotherapy TechniquesPhysics and Astronomy5.2%
- Biomedical and Engineering EducationEngineering5.2%
- Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical ImagingMedicine4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medical Informatics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medical Informatics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
INSPECEmbasePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.74LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.2LetPub ·
- h-index
- 56OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 410OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.44OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 32.36%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 94LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 480,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,083 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 58 | 24 | 32 |
| 2025 | 98 | 40 | 282 |
| 2024 | 130 | 48 | 669 |
| 2023 | 92 | 46 | 1,290 |
| 2022 | 88 | 52 | 1,968 |
| 2021 | 116 | 67 | 3,016 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
123 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 73 days – 209 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (99 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 150 days
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (186 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 27 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,490 / EUR 3,390 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- case reportTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…Length not stated
- commentaryTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…Length not stated
- correspondenceTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…Length not stated
- editorialTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- letterTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- original articleTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…main text ≤ 3,500 words
- original articles/original researchOriginal Articles/Original Research 3500 No limit Structured, up to 250 wordsLength not stated
- original researchTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…main text ≤ 1,200 words
- research letter/correspondenceResearch Letter/Correspondence 600 No limit NilLength not stated
- reviewTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…Length not stated
- review articleTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- short research communicationShort Research Communication 1200 No limit Structured, up to 200 wordsLength not stated
- technical noteTypes of PapersWord LimitReferences/Figures/TablesAbstractReview article5000No limitStructured, up to 250 wordsOriginal Articles/Original Research3500No limitSt…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
LLMs do not satisfy authorship criteria; use must be documented in Methods Model summary
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest
Conflict of interest statements required Model summary
When an author or the institution of the author has a relationship, financial or otherwise, with individuals or organizations that could influence the author’s work inappropriately, a conflict of interest may exist. Examples of potential conflicts of interest may include but are not limited to academic, personal, or political relationships; employment; consultancies or honoraria; and finical conne…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Research data archiving encouraged Model summary
We encourage research data to be archived in data repositories wherever possible.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
Informed consent required for identifiable patient information Model summary
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Health and Technology, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Double-blind peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double-blind reviewing procedure. Authors are therefore requested to submit:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 6 issues per year
- ISSN
- 2190-7188
- Electronic ISSN
- 2190-7196
- Society / sponsor
- IUPSEM
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 16, Issue 5 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Health and Technology
What CAS zone is Health and Technology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Health and Technology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Medical Informatics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Health and Technology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 7.7, h-index 56.
How long does peer review take at Health and Technology?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 123 days (interquartile range 73–209 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Health and Technology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Health and Technology based?
Of the 23 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Taiwan, China (3), United Kingdom (3) and Italy (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Health and Technology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Health and Technology is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists INSPEC and Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Health and Technology open access, and what is the APC?
Health and Technology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,490.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .