Journal profile · Multiple
Group & Organization Management
ISSN 1059-6011 · eISSN 1552-3993 · SAGE
Group & Organization Management: CAS Zone 3 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.47; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 185 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 10.2% (journal website); 109 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Group & Organization Management is published by SAGE and is in Zone 3 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Job Satisfaction and Organizational Behavior, Gender Diversity and Inequality and Team Dynamics and Performance, together about 42.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Group & Organization Management (GOM), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, publishes the work of scholars and professionals who extend management and organization theory and address the implications for practitioners. GOM is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). The Editor and all Associate Editors have signed and affirmed to … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Paul HarveyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 186, Australia 14, United Kingdom 11, Canada 9, Netherlands 8 (263 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Job Satisfaction and Organizational BehaviorBusiness, Management and Accounting23.8%
- Gender Diversity and InequalitySocial Sciences9.5%
- Team Dynamics and PerformancePsychology9%
- Management and Organizational StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting6.8%
- Innovation and Knowledge ManagementBusiness, Management and Accounting4.5%
- Knowledge Management and SharingSocial Sciences3.8%
- Corporate Finance and GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting3.6%
- Work-Family Balance ChallengesSocial Sciences3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Management Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychology, Applied | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.47LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 6.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 11.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.54LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.27LetPub ·
- h-index
- 144OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 803OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.61OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 16.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 27.93%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 61LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,289 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 73 | 35 | 13 |
| 2025 | 109 | 48 | 191 |
| 2024 | 76 | 42 | 469 |
| 2023 | 59 | 32 | 715 |
| 2022 | 73 | 19 | 1,421 |
| 2021 | 53 | 22 | 2,724 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 10.2%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 185 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,900 / GBP 2,859 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 800 / USD 200 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- USD 800
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted2
- regular manuscriptsArticle types Regular ManuscriptsLength not stated
- reviewRegular Manuscripts The submission (including references) conforms to APA format as outlined in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. As a condition of publication authors are required to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data availability statement. This sho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Member of Committee on Publication Ethics Model summary
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: $800 for the first color image, and $200 each for additional color images. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 1059-6011
- Electronic ISSN
- 1552-3993
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Group & Organization Management
What CAS zone is Group & Organization Management in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Group & Organization Management is in Zone 3 of Management, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Psychology, Applied / Management. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Group & Organization Management?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.47; CiteScore 11.3, h-index 144.
How long does peer review take at Group & Organization Management?
The publisher reports about 185 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 10.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Group & Organization Management?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Group & Organization Management based?
Of the 263 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (186), Australia (14) and United Kingdom (11). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Group & Organization Management?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Group & Organization Management is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Group & Organization Management open access, and what is the APC?
Group & Organization Management is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .