Journal profile · Nursing-Gerontology
Gerontechnology
ISSN 1569-1101 · International Society for Gerontechnology
Gerontechnology: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Gerontechnology is published by International Society for Gerontechnology. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Technology Use by Older Adults, Assistive Technology in Communication and Mobility and Aging, Elder Care, and Social Issues, together about 55.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Design technology and environment for independent living and social participation of older persons in good health, comfort, and safety. Scope of Gerontechnology Health, housing, mobility, communication, leisure, and work
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nursing-Gerontology
Editor-in-chief Yeh-Liang HsuPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 7, Taiwan, China 3, Netherlands 3, Brazil 2, United Kingdom 1 (23 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Technology Use by Older AdultsSocial Sciences33.4%
- Assistive Technology in Communication and MobilityHealth Professions13.5%
- Aging, Elder Care, and Social IssuesHealth Professions8.3%
- Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine4.9%
- Aging and Gerontology ResearchPsychology4.6%
- Context-Aware Activity Recognition SystemsComputer Science4.4%
- Social Robot Interaction and HRIPsychology3.9%
- Aging, Health, and DisabilityMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biomedical Engineering | Q4 | 313/342 | 8th |
| Geriatrics and Gerontology | Q4 | 114/123 | 7th |
| Gerontology | Q4 | 38/40 | 6th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCCINAHLPublisher website
Other: EBSCO
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.18LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.14LetPub ·
- h-index
- 42OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 275OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.14OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,935 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 262 | 262 | 471 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 687 |
| 2024 | 257 | 257 | 723 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 653 |
| 2022 | 271 | 271 | 774 |
| 2021 | 22 | 22 | 831 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 600 | No | CC BY | |
| Publisher website | EUR 600 / EUR 500 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- preprint
Article types accepted5
- case study and best practiceThis section presents real-world applications, implementation experiences, and practical insights from deploying gerontechnology solutions in actual settings.Length not stated
- original researchThis section includes empirical studies that investigate the design, implementation, and evaluation of technologies or environments for older adults, with evide…Length not stated
- review and perspectiveThis section includes systematic or scoping reviews, conceptual analyses, and forward-looking perspectives on topics related to gerontechnology.Length not stated
- special issues and editorialsThis section includes special issue articles, editorials, and invited submissions. Submissions to this section are by invitation only.Length not stated
- system design and developmentThis section focuses on the design and development of technological systems, prototypes, or platforms intended to support older adults.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Publication ethics
Follows COPE publication ethics. Model summary
Gerontechnology (ISSN/EISSN 1569-1101 1569-111X) follows the COPE principles of publication ethics.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
CC BY 4.0 license; authors retain copyright. Model summary
This journal operates under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access publication. Model summary
All articles published in Gerontechnology are open access and freely available on the journal website.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review with at least two reviewers per manuscript. Model summary
This journal follows a double-blind peer review process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- International Society for Gerontechnology
- ISSN
- 1569-1101
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 25, Issue 1 (March 2026)
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Gerontechnology
What are the manuscript requirements of Gerontechnology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Gerontechnology based?
Of the 23 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (7), Taiwan, China (3) and Netherlands (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Gerontechnology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Gerontechnology is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and CINAHL; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Gerontechnology open access, and what is the APC?
Gerontechnology is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .