Journal profile

Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging

ISSN 2447-2115 · eISSN 2447-2123 · Brazilian Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology · Brazil

Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 24 weeks (community reports); acceptance rate 32% (journal website); 44 articles in 2025.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 24 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance32%From the journal's website
Articles per year442025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging is published by Brazilian Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Aging, Health, and Disability, Frailty in Older Adults and Nutrition and Health in Aging, together about 34.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Basic Information Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging – GGA (online ISSN 2447-2123) is the official scientific publication of the Sociedade Brasileira de Geriatria e Gerontologia. It's available online at no cost to authors or readers. Our editorial policy follows the research communication in the Open Science modus operandi. GGA accepts contributions in English, Portuguese, and Spanish, and publishes all articles in English and in their original submission language. Works are peer-reviewed and published under the Creative Commons Attribution CC-BY, with copyright retained by the authors without restrictions, adopting a CC0 license (public domain) for metadata. The journal operates under an Article-Based Publishing (ABP) model, wherein peer-reviewed articles are published sequentially and subsequently compiled into definitive annual volumes. We maintain a firm commitment to rigorous ethical standards across all research and publication practices, thereby ensuring the probity and trustworthiness of the journal's content for both contributors and the readership. Journal title: Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging (previously “Geriatria & Gerontologia”) Abbreviated title: Geriatr Gerontol Aging Published by: Sociedade Brasileira de Geriatria Publication mode: Continuous Publication Year of establishment: 2007 Print ISSN: 2447-2115 (until 2015) Online ISSN: 2447-2123 Mission and scope Geriatrics, Gerontology and Aging serves as an interdisciplinary forum for disseminating high quality research on the health and healthcare of older adults, publishing articles from psychology, nutrition, sociology, nursing, medicine, physical therapy, physical education, anthropology, speech therapy, social work, law, among others. GGA welcomes a diverse array of article types across geriatrics, gerontology, and related fields, including original articles, reviews, brief communications, case reports, viewpoints, and letters to the editor. GGA will publish seminar papers, special articles, and study protocols, in specific cases. Our mission is to advance knowledge in geriatrics and gerontology, fostering an inclusive understanding of aging that spans its various subdomains and interrelated disciplines. We are committed to promoting a global dialogue on aging and encouraging contributions that reflect international perspectives or offer comparative analyses across diverse cultural and societal contexts. Its scope encompasses human aging research across all aspects of health and healthc

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Patrick AlexanderPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Brazil 46, Chile 3, United Kingdom 1, Spain 1, Colombia 1 (52 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Aging, Health, and DisabilityMedicine13.3%
  2. Frailty in Older AdultsMedicine11.1%
  3. Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine10.5%
  4. Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions6.7%
  5. Pharmaceutical Practices and Patient OutcomesMedicine6.6%
  6. Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine6.4%
  7. Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions6.2%
  8. Aging, Elder Care, and Social IssuesHealth Professions5.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
18OpenAlex ·
i10-index
41OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.36OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 664 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20266161177
20254444217
20245656256
20236262344
20224141257
20216161249

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 24 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
32%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
49 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer review, Open peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
3–6
Reference style
Vancouver
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10
  1. brief communicationsBrief Communications max. 2000 2 20 10 Structured abstract (objective; methods; results; conclusion) 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
  2. case reportsCase Reports max. 1500 2 20 6 Structured abstract (background and objective, case description, discussion) 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
  3. editorials and commentsEditorials and Comments max. 1600 2 15 4 Not applicable Upon journal invitationLength not stated
  4. letters to the editorLetters to the Editor max. 1000 2 15 4 An abstract is not required. OpenLength not stated
  5. open review articlesOpen Review Articles max. 5000 5 50 10 Unstructured abstract 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
  6. original articlesOriginal Articles 2000 - 4000 5 30 10 Structured abstract (Objective; Methods; Results; Conclusion) 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
  7. seminarsSeminars max. 4000 Flexible limit Flexible limit 4 Unstructured abstract 150– 250 words Upon journal invitationLength not stated
  8. special articlesSpecial Articles Flexible limit Flexible limit Flexible limit 10 Unstructured abstract 150 – 250 words. Upon journal invitationLength not stated
  9. study protocolsStudy Protocols max. 2500 2 20 10 Structured abstract (background/objectives, methods, expected results, and relevance) 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
  10. viewpointsViewpoints 1000 - 2000 2 15 6 Unstructured abstract 150 – 250 words OpenLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Plagiarism, Preprints
Authorship Authorship Policies

ORCID mandatory for all authors at submission. Model summary

Criteria and Accountability CRediT taxonomy Lead/Corresponding Author Undergraduate/Graduate students cannot be the lead/corresponding author authorship-related policies ORCID IDs Changes in Authorship

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Editorial board's conflict of interest statements

Policies on AI and LLM use Model summary

Editor Type Period - Company 2025 Caio de Assis Moura Tavares Financial1 Academic2 2025 Novo Nordisk Brazil - speaker fees1 PROADI-SUS - conducting randomized clinical trials funded by the Brazilian Ministry of Health2 José Luis Dinamarca-Montecinos Financial 2025 Laboratory P&G - speaker fees on topics related to vitamin B12 and pain Patrick Alexander Wachholz Financial 2022 Johnson & Johnson Inn…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

CC-BY license, copyright retained by authors. Model summary

Works are peer-reviewed and published under the Creative Commons Attribution CC-BY license, with copyright retained by the authors without restrictions.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism and Duplicate Publication

Plagiarism checked with iThenticate; Scientific Editor reviews if overall similarity >20% or single source >10%. Model summary

Plagiarism Check: iThenticate Duplicate Publication Post-Publication

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints and Previous Publications

Preprints allowed if FAIR-compliant repositories, submitted before or in parallel. Model summary

GGA accepts manuscripts preprint F.A.I.R. principles SciELO Preprints MedRxiv GGA strongly encourage authors deposit their manuscripts preprint concurrently with submission must inform content has been published as a preprint, providing the DOI and electronic address Post-Acceptance EmeRI abstracts in proceedings and the provision of preprint versions do not constitute duplicate publication

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Brazilian Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology
Country or region
Brazil
Language
English, Portuguese
ISSN
2447-2115
Electronic ISSN
2447-2123
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging

How long does peer review take at Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging?

Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 32%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–6; Reference style: Vancouver; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging based?

Of the 52 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Brazil (46), Chile (3) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging open access, and what is the APC?

Geriatrics Gerontology and Aging is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .