Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Philosophy

Foucault Studies

ISSN 1832-5203 · Copenhagen Business School · Denmark

Foucault Studies: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 36 weeks (community reports); 27 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ2Philosophy · rank 276/891 · 69th percentile
Review timeabout 36 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year272025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Foucault Studies is published by Copenhagen Business School. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Foucault, Power, and Ethics, Philosophy and Social Theory and Political Theology and Sovereignty, together about 73% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science and Philosophy. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Philosophy

Editor-in-chief Knut Ove EliassenPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Foucault, Power, and EthicsSocial Sciences37.8%
  2. Philosophy and Social TheorySocial Sciences21%
  3. Political Theology and SovereigntySocial Sciences14.2%
  4. Gender and Feminist StudiesSocial Sciences3.2%
  5. Nietzsche, Schopenhauer, and HegelArts and Humanities2%
  6. Marxism and Critical TheoryArts and Humanities2%
  7. Classical Philosophy and ThoughtArts and Humanities1.7%
  8. Critical Theory and PhilosophySocial Sciences1.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
PhilosophyQ2276/89169th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
0.9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.17LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.54LetPub ·
h-index
39OpenAlex ·
i10-index
130OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.6OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 752 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262525351
20252727461
20242525494
20233030580
20222929568
20216969663

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 36 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 36 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC-ND
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 12,000 words
Reference style
Chicago
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6, with length limits
  1. book reviewand 5 keywords should also be provided. Book reviews, which are commissioned, should be between 1,000 and 2,000 words.Review essays, also commissioned, should b…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  2. book reviewsBook reviews, which are commissioned, should be between 1,000 and 2,000 words.Length not stated
  3. original articleceptable. Length and Type of Submission Original articles should aim for a target length of 8,000-12,000 words; an abstract of 150 to 250 words and 5 keywords s…main text ≤ 12,000 words
  4. original articlesOriginal articles should aim for a target length of 8,000-12,000 words; an abstract of 150 to 250 words and 5 keywords should also be provided.Length not stated
  5. reviewshould be between 1,000 and 2,000 words.Review essays, also commissioned, should be between 2,000 and 6,000 words. If you are interested in reviewing a book for…main text ≤ 6,000 words
  6. review essaysReview essays, also commissioned, should be between 2,000 and 6,000 words.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access, Peer review
License & copyright Copyright Notice

Authors retain copyright; CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 license. Model summary

Authors retain copyright of their manuscript, while assigning the right of the first publication to Foucault Studies. The work is subject to a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 license; despite these restrictions, authors can rest assured that Foucault Studies will permit articles published in the journal to be translated or reprinted in another format such as book chapters providing a full reference is made to Fou…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access

No APC. Model summary

There are no article processing charges (APC) when submitting your manuscript to Foucault Studies.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Triple-anonymous peer review process. Model summary

Foucault Studies works according to a triple-anonymous peer review process.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Copenhagen Business School
Country or region
Denmark
Language
English
ISSN
1832-5203
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Foucault Studies

How long does peer review take at Foucault Studies?

Authors report an average review time of about 36 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Foucault Studies?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 12,000 words; Reference style: Chicago. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Foucault Studies?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Foucault Studies is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Foucault Studies open access, and what is the APC?

Foucault Studies is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .