Journal profile · SURGERY
Formosan Journal of Surgery
ISSN 1682-606X · eISSN 2213-5413 · Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications · India
Formosan Journal of Surgery: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.6 (journal website); JCR Q4 (journal website); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 11 weeks (community reports); 60 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Formosan Journal of Surgery is published by Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Gastrointestinal disorders and treatments, Hernia repair and management and Esophageal and GI Pathology, together about 20.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Formosan Journal of Surgery publishes articles in the fields of bariatric and metabolic surgery, breast surgery, cardiovascular surgery, colon and rectal surgery, endocrine surgery, gastrointestinal surgery, hepato-biliary-pancreatic surgery, neurosurgery, pediatric surgery, plastic surgery, surgical translational research, thoracic surgery, transplantation, traumatalogy, urology and its related disciplines. Formosan Journal of Surgery publishes original articles, review articles, case reports and correspondences that are of exceptional and unique importance. Studies on state-of-the-art surgical innovations across the entire spectrum of clinical and experimental surgery are particularly welcome.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): SURGERY
Editor-in-chief Jin-Tung LiangPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Gastrointestinal disorders and treatmentsMedicine7.2%
- Hernia repair and managementMedicine7%
- Esophageal and GI PathologyMedicine6.1%
- Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine5.4%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine5%
- Urological Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine5%
- Gallbladder and Bile Duct DisordersMedicine4.7%
- Gastrointestinal Tumor Research and TreatmentMedicine4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- JCR Q4 · SURGERY · rank 283/321
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.17LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.25LetPub ·
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.23OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 37LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,310 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 38 | 38 | 1 |
| 2025 | 60 | 60 | 5 |
| 2024 | 103 | 103 | 40 |
| 2023 | 93 | 93 | 47 |
| 2022 | 61 | 61 | 61 |
| 2021 | 48 | 48 | 75 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref
Not usableThis publisher's "received" date is mostly when the revised manuscript arrived (27% of articles were "accepted" within 3 days), so it cannot measure review time
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 11 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-ND | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- AMA
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- case reportType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- case reportsCase Reports Up to 1,000 words (excluding Abstract and references)Length not stated
- correspondencesCorrespondences Up to 500 (excluding Abstract and references)Length not stated
- editorialType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…Length not stated
- meta-analysisType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…Length not stated
- original articleType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…Length not stated
- review articleType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles Up to 3,000 (excluding Abstract and references)Length not stated
- systematic reviewType Text Word Guideline* Abstract Word Guideline Figure/Table Guideline Reference Guideline Original articles (including formal systematic reviews/meta-analyse…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Authorship AUTHORSHIP
Formosan Journal of Surgery expects that each person listed as an author has participated sufficiently in the intellectual content, the analysis of data, and/or the writing of the manuscript to take public responsibility for it. Each author must have reviewed the manuscript, believes it represents valid work, and approves it for submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Financial Support and Competing Interests
A financial disclosure section is part of the submission process and must be completed by each author at first revision. This information is for review by the Editors but will be published if relevant to the content of the accepted manuscript. The primary purpose of the disclosure section is to determine whether authors have received any commercial financial support that could create a conflict of…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Availability Statement
Data availability statement required. Model summary
Formosan Journal of Surgery requires authors to include in any articles that report results derived from research data to include a Data Availability Statement. The provision of a Data Availability Statement will be verified as a condition of publication. Data Availability Statements should include information on where data supporting the results reported in the article can be found including, whe…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Duplicate publication policy. Model summary
Manuscripts are reviewed for possible publication with the understanding that they are being submitted only to the Formosan Journal of Surgery and have not been published, simultaneously submitted, or already accepted for publication elsewhere.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
Every peer-reviewed research article appearing in Formosan Journal of Surgery will be published open access. This means that the article is universally and freely accessible via the internet in perpetuity, in an easily readable format immediately after publication. Formosan Journal of Surgery does not charge for submission, processing or publication of manuscripts and even for color reproduction o…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review PEER REVIEW
Double-blind external peer review process. Model summary
Formosan Journal of Surgery operates a double-blind external peer review process, wherein the reviewers and authors are unaware of each other’s identity. Brief introduction on editorial review process of the journal:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
As defined by the World Association of Medical Editors (http://www.wame.org/resources/publication-ethics-policies-for-medical-journals), Plagiarism is the use of others' published and unpublished ideas or words (or other intellectual property) without attribution or permission, and presenting them as new and original rather than derived from an existing source. The intent and effect of plagiarism …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wolters Kluwer Medknow Publications
- Country or region
- India
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1682-606X
- Electronic ISSN
- 2213-5413
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 59, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Formosan Journal of Surgery
What CAS zone is Formosan Journal of Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Formosan Journal of Surgery is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Formosan Journal of Surgery?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.6; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.6, h-index 14.
How long does peer review take at Formosan Journal of Surgery?
Authors report an average review time of about 11 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What JCR quartile is Formosan Journal of Surgery in?
The journal's website gives JCR Q4; by category, SURGERY Q4 (283/321). JCR quartiles are Clarivate's to confirm and a different system from the CAS zones; in the CAS ranking the journal is in Zone 4 of Medicine.
Which databases index Formosan Journal of Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Formosan Journal of Surgery is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Formosan Journal of Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Formosan Journal of Surgery is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .