Journal profile

Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases

ISSN 2667-3967 · Elsevier · United States

Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases: impact factor 1.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; review about 50 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 125 articles in 2025.

Impact factor1.4From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time50 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 9 weeks
APCUSD 2,000Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1252025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Foot and Ankle Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation and Tendon Structure and Treatment, together about 47.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Orthopedics and Sports Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Foot & Ankle Surgery: Technique, Reports & Cases is an official publication of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons and publishes the latest advances in cutting-edge surgical techniques for correction of foot and ankle disorders. The journal focuses on clinically relevant articles, reviews and case reports to provide relevant and in-depth coverage of all areas of the medical and surgical treatment of foot and ankle disorders. The journal will provide practice-based evidence via case reports and articles on novel techniques to advance clinical research and daily clinical practice.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Thomas S. RoukisPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 44, Canada 3 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine22.5%
  2. Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine12.8%
  3. Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine12.2%
  4. Diabetic Foot Ulcer Assessment and ManagementMedicine7.5%
  5. Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering5.5%
  6. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine4.6%
  7. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.1%
  8. Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ScopusPubMedPublisher website

Other: Crossref

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher)
3.1Publisher website ·
h-index
9OpenAlex ·
i10-index
6OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.38OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Volume

Downloads per year (publisher)
244,319Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 625 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202679792
202512512519
2024979793
2023909088
2022113113137
2021121121198

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

50 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 9 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 9 weeksLetPub ·
First decision after review
33 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
50 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
3 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,000YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,000 / EUR 1,870 / GBP 1,600 / JPY 248,060——
LetPubUSD 2,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 2,000——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Reference style
AMA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted20, with length limits
  1. case reportThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  2. case reports and case seriesCase Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects)Length not stated
  3. commentaryThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  4. editorialThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  5. editorial or commentaryEditorial or Commentary—an article expressing an opinion about a topic considered interesting to foot and ankle surgeons.Length not stated
  6. industry-sponsored articleIndustry-Sponsored ArticleLength not stated
  7. industry-sponsored videoIndustry-Sponsored VideoLength not stated
  8. instructional courseInstructional Course—a detailed description of a specific intervention or diagnostic test, accompanied by detailed figure images and video add-ons available at …Length not stated
  9. letterThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  10. letter to the editorThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  11. opinionThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  12. original articleThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  13. original research articleThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…main text ≤ 4,000 words
  14. original research articlesOriginal Research ArticlesLength not stated
  15. resident/fellow lectureResident/Fellow LectureLength not stated
  16. reviewThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  17. technical noteThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
  18. technical note with videoTechnical Note with Video—educational article providing practical tutorial on technique, tools, methodologies and approaches in foot and ankle surgery.Length not stated
  19. tips, quips and pearlsTips, Quips and Pearls—a brief and practical description of a useful clinical or surgical maneuver or procedure, accompanied by useful figure images.Length not stated
  20. tutorialThere are several article types, with varying level of maximum word counts and references: Case Reports and Case Series (N less than 30 subjects); Instructional…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'License Agreement' (see more information on this). Permitted third party reuse of open access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rights to reuse your work. More information.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access

Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review

Double anonymized review Model summary

This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors to determine suitability for publication in this journal. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected will be taken by our editors…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprints can be shared anywhere at any time Model summary

Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2667-3967
Society / sponsor
American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases

What is the impact factor of Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 9.

How long does peer review take at Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases?

The publisher reports about 50 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 9 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: AMA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases based?

Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (44) and Canada (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases is indexed in DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Scopus and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases open access, and what is the APC?

Foot Ankle Surgery Techniques Reports Cases is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .