Journal profile · Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Foot Ankle Orthopaedics
ISSN 2473-0114 · SAGE Publishing · United States
Foot Ankle Orthopaedics: fully open access; APC about USD 1,200; review about 31 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 66.8% (journal website); 632 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Foot Ankle Orthopaedics is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Foot and Ankle Surgery, Lower Extremity Biomechanics and Pathologies and Bone fractures and treatments, together about 66.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics (FAO) welcomes articles that contribute to orthopaedic science as it relates to the foot and ankle. Articles are welcome from all countries and all sources under the following conditions: Articles are accepted only for exclusive publication in Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics. Publication does NOT constitute official endorsement of opinions presented in articles. Published articles and illustrations become the property of Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Editor-in-chief Charles L. SaltzmanPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 57, Canada 3, Switzerland 3, United Kingdom 2, Germany 2 (79 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine34.2%
- Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering16.9%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine15.2%
- Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine5.9%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine5.6%
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine4.6%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine3.7%
- Diabetic Foot Ulcer Assessment and ManagementMedicine2.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orthopedics and Sports Medicine | Q3 | 199/340 | 41st |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.69LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.03LetPub ·
- h-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 158OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.54OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,715 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 235 | 235 | 1,614 |
| 2025 | 632 | 632 | 1,725 |
| 2024 | 655 | 655 | 1,409 |
| 2023 | 594 | 594 | 992 |
| 2022 | 1,111 | 1,111 | 564 |
| 2021 | 68 | 68 | 403 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
31 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 10 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 66.8%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 31 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 53 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,200 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,200 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,200 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 800 / USD 1,200 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- case reportsCase ReportsLength not stated
- clinical and biomedical scientific manuscriptsWhat We Publish Clinical and Biomedical Scientific ManuscriptsLength not stated
- clinical trial protocolClinical Trial ProtocolLength not stated
- contemporary reviewsContemporary ReviewsLength not stated
- large language models (llm) evaluationsLarge Language Models (LLM) evaluationsLength not stated
- letterReplies by authors should not exceed 400 words of text, one (1) figure or table, and 5 references (including a required citation to the related article). The te…main text ≤ 400 words · references ≤ 5
- letters to the editorLetters to the EditorLength not stated
- short scientific reportsShort Scientific ReportsLength not stated
- systematic review/meta-analysesSystematic Review/Meta-AnalysesLength not stated
- technique tipsTechnique TipsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- AI use AI Tools and Authorship
The use of AI programs including Large Language Models (LLM) to generate any content must be acknowledged in the Material & Methods Section.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Author contributions
The corresponding author is required at submission to verify that the work has been submitted solely to FAO and is not published, in press, or submitted elsewhere. It is to be clearly understood that each author has participated in the design of the study, has contributed to the collection of the data, has participated in the writing of the manuscript, and assumes full responsibility for the conte…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest
All authors submitting a manuscript to this peer-reviewed journal must disclose any conflicts of interest (COI) related to the submitted paper, using the FAI/FAO Disclosure Forms (Updated April 2026). A conflict of interest typically involves financial relationships (most commonly payments to surgeons or authors) that could reasonably be perceived as influencing the submitted work, whether receive…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Manuscript content licensed under Creative Commons Licenses Model summary
Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Foot & Ankle Orthopaedics is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. Publication costs of the journal are covered by the collection of article processing charges which are paid by the funder, institution or author of each manuscript up…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publishing
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2473-0114
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Foot Ankle Orthopaedics
How long does peer review take at Foot Ankle Orthopaedics?
The publisher reports about 31 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 66.8%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Foot Ankle Orthopaedics based?
Of the 79 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (57), Canada (3) and Switzerland (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Foot Ankle Orthopaedics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Foot Ankle Orthopaedics is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Foot Ankle Orthopaedics open access, and what is the APC?
Foot Ankle Orthopaedics is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,200.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .