Journal profile · ORTHOPEDICS
Foot and Ankle Surgery
ISSN 1268-7731 · eISSN 1460-9584 · Elsevier Ltd · ENGLAND
Foot and Ankle Surgery: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.25; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,300; median 87 days to acceptance (87 articles, last 24 months); 129 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Foot and Ankle Surgery is published by Elsevier Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Foot and Ankle Surgery, Tendon Structure and Treatment and Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, together about 51.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Orthopedics and Sports Medicine and Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Foot and Ankle Surgery is essential reading for everyone interested in the foot and ankle and its disorders. The approach is broad and includes all aspects of the subject from basic science to clinical management. Problems of both children and adults are included, as is trauma and chronic disease. Foot and Ankle Surgery is the official journal of European Foot and Ankle Society.The aims of this journal are to promote the art and science of ankle and foot surgery, to publish peer-reviewed research and to provide regular reviews by acknowledged experts on common problems. Reviews of books are also published. Papers are invited for possible publication in Foot and Ankle Surgery on the understanding that the material has not been published elsewhere or accepted for publication in another journal and does not infringe prior copyright.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ORTHOPEDICS
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 18, Germany 10, Italy 9, Belgium 7, Spain 6 (87 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine28.2%
- Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine12%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine11.6%
- Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering10.7%
- Diabetic Foot Ulcer Assessment and ManagementMedicine5.9%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine5.7%
- Sports injuries and preventionMedicine3%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine2.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.25LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.1Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.92LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.55LetPub ·
- h-index
- 32LetPub ·
- h-index
- 71OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,137OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.43OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 17.15%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 99LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,618 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 132 | 29 | 24 |
| 2025 | 129 | 36 | 200 |
| 2024 | 136 | 31 | 739 |
| 2023 | 112 | 26 | 812 |
| 2022 | 127 | 40 | 1,286 |
| 2021 | 156 | 32 | 1,671 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
87 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 56 days – 140 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 3 days (87 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 92 days
- Sample
- 87 articles with submission and acceptance dates (333 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to acceptance
- 105 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,300 / EUR 4,020 / GBP 3,440 / JPY 533,330 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- No page charges
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Not considered
- Case Reports; Case Series; Letters to the Editor
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- editorialFoot and Ankle Surgery publishes:Original researchWord count: up to 3000 words including the Abstract.Tables/illustrations: maximum of 10 figures (counting a, b…Length not stated
- letterFoot and Ankle Surgery publishes:Original researchWord count: up to 3000 words including the Abstract.Tables/illustrations: maximum of 10 figures (counting a, b…Length not stated
- original researchTypes Foot and Ankle Surgery publishes: Original research Word count: up to 3000 words including the Abstract. Tables/illustrations: maximum of 10main text ≤ 3,000 words
- review articleles and/or figures References: up to 50 Review articles Word count: up to 4000 words Tables/illustrations: maximum of 10 figures (counting a, b,main text ≤ 4,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 10
- review articlesReview articles Word count: up to 4000 wordsLength not stated
- systematic reviewFoot and Ankle Surgery publishes:Original researchWord count: up to 3000 words including the Abstract.Tables/illustrations: maximum of 10 figures (counting a, b…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 3. Double-Blind Peer Review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
To preserve the integrity of the double-blind review process, authors must ensure that the submitted manuscript does not contain any information that could identify the authors or their institution. Specifically, the manuscript submitted for review should not include: PROSPERO or registry identification numbersRegistry hyperlinksInstitutional names within the protocol descriptionAny wording that c…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines 2. Reporting Guidelines
Authors must prepare their manuscript in accordance with the PRISMA 2020 Statement. PRISMA stands for Preferred Reporting Items in Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis. The following documents must be uploaded at submission: A completed PRISMA 2020 ChecklistA PRISMA Flow Diagram
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1268-7731
- Electronic ISSN
- 1460-9584
- Society / sponsor
- European Foot and Ankle Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Foot and Ankle Surgery
What CAS zone is Foot and Ankle Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Foot and Ankle Surgery is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Foot and Ankle Surgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.25; CiteScore 5.1, h-index 71.
How long does peer review take at Foot and Ankle Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 87 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 87 days (interquartile range 56–140 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Foot and Ankle Surgery?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Foot and Ankle Surgery based?
Of the 87 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (18), Germany (10) and Italy (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Foot and Ankle Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Foot and Ankle Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Foot and Ankle Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Foot and Ankle Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,300.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .