Journal profile · Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Food Science

Food Chemistry Advances

ISSN 2772-753X · Elsevier · United Kingdom

Food Chemistry Advances: impact factor 10.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,440; review about 137 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 322 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor10.4From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time137 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 11 weeks
APCUSD 2,440Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year3222025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Food Chemistry Advances is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Phytochemicals and Antioxidant Activities, Food composition and properties and Proteins in Food Systems, together about 30.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Food Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Food Chemistry Advances is a companion journal to the highly respected Food Chemistry and Food Chemistry: X. Food Chemistry Advances publishes original research and review articles on all areas of chemistry and biochemistry of foods and food-related systems.This journal also creates an international forum to welcome cross-disciplinary or cross-field research related to whole foods, processed foods, food raw materials, food ingredients/additives, and food packaging. The Journal publishes papers with chemistry and/or biochemistry as a major component, integrating material science, processing technology/biotechnology, biological/microbiological systems, human nutrition and health, advanced characterization techniques, information technology, mathematical modelling, computational methods, emerging research areas, as well as topics considered practically or commercially important to the food sector.Food Chemistry Advances will not consider papers that focus purely on engineering, microbiology, nutrition, pharmaceuticals, medicines, information technology, computational and mathematical modelling aspects, without a significant proportion of chemistry and/or biochemistry (note: analysis or characterization of individual food components is expected, rather than simply reporting total contents of particular classes of food components).The Food Chemistry family of journals includes Food Chemistry, Food Chemistry: X, Food Chemistry Advances and Food Chemistry: Molecular Sciences .

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Food Science

Editor-in-chief João BarreiraPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 20 in mainland China (about 38%); most named Mainland China 20, United Kingdom 8, Brazil 5, United States 2, Japan 2 (53 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine13.8%
  2. Food composition and propertiesNursing10.5%
  3. Proteins in Food SystemsAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.6%
  4. Meat and Animal Product QualityAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.1%
  5. Protein Hydrolysis and Bioactive PeptidesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.9%
  6. Essential Oils and Antimicrobial ActivityAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.8%
  7. Seed and Plant BiochemistryAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.5%
  8. Microencapsulation and Drying ProcessesAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
10.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
10.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
10.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.06LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.6LetPub ·
h-index
56OpenAlex ·
i10-index
546OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
6.9OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,365 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026183183152
20253223221,677
20242772773,568
20234154158,359
20221651654,811
20213379

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

137 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 11 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 11 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
32 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
137 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
3 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 21 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,440YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,080 / EUR 1,950 / GBP 1,670 / JPY 257,980——
LetPubUSD 1,750Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 2,500——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 7,500 words
Reference style
APA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Required
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Required
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4, with length limits
  1. editorialResearch papers – original full-length research papers that have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, and should not exceed 7,500 words …Length not stated
  2. research paperResearch papers – original full-length research papers that have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, and should not exceed 7,500 words …main text ≤ 7,500 words
  3. review articleResearch papers – original full-length research papers that have not been published previously, except in a preliminary form, and should not exceed 7,500 words …Length not stated
  4. review articlesReview articles –will be accepted in areas of topical interest, will normally focus on literature published over the previous five years, and should not exceed …Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2772-753X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Food Chemistry Advances

What is the impact factor of Food Chemistry Advances?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 10.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 10.1, h-index 56.

How long does peer review take at Food Chemistry Advances?

The publisher reports about 137 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 11 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Food Chemistry Advances?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,500 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Food Chemistry Advances based?

Of the 53 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 20 (about 38%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (20), United Kingdom (8) and Brazil (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Food Chemistry Advances?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Food Chemistry Advances is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Food Chemistry Advances open access, and what is the APC?

Food Chemistry Advances is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,440.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .