Journal profile

Food and Life

ISSN 2714-0865 · Guhmok · Korea, Republic of

Food and Life: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 37 days to acceptance (24 articles, last 24 months); 23 articles in 2025.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review time37 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 24 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year232025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Food and Life is published by Guhmok. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Meat and Animal Product Quality, Food and Agricultural Sciences and Food Quality and Safety Studies, together about 51.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Food Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Food and Life has published all type articles such as research articles, review articles, survey articles, research note, short communication or editorial since 2020. It covers the all scientific and technological aspects of food and life science.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Gapdon Kim SeoulPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Korea 5, Spain 1, New Zealand 1 (7 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Meat and Animal Product QualityAgricultural and Biological Sciences25.2%
  2. Food and Agricultural SciencesAgricultural and Biological Sciences13.6%
  3. Food Quality and Safety StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences13.1%
  4. Proteins in Food SystemsAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.1%
  5. Agriculture Sustainability and Environmental ImpactEnvironmental Science3.7%
  6. Food composition and propertiesNursing3.3%
  7. Postharvest Quality and Shelf Life ManagementAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.3%
  8. Food Safety and HygieneAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
7OpenAlex ·
i10-index
5OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.17OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 101 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026171753
2025232352
2024121242
2023111120
2022131319
202111116

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

37 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 31 days – 45 days

Acceptance to online
median 100 days (24 articles)
Submission to online
median 144 days
Sample
24 articles with submission and acceptance dates (44 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
≥ 3
Reference style
Author–date
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. articlesArticles are reports of original, scientifically sound research.Length not stated
  2. editorialOriginality Food and Life is an international, peer-reviewed journal publishing original research and review articles on all scientific and technological aspect…Length not stated
  3. mini reviewsMini-Reviews should be structured under appropriate section such as Introduction, Main issue, Conclusion, and References.Length not stated
  4. research articleResearch ArticleLength not stated
  5. research noteresearch noteLength not stated
  6. review articleReview ArticleLength not stated
  7. short communicatione arranged in the same way as Articles. Short Communications are no more than 3,000 words long (without reference) and could contain total of 3 tablemain text ≤ 3,000 words
  8. short communicationsShort Communications are short reports for the rapid presentation of new observation.Length not stated
  9. surveySurvey provide survey of a scientific or applied field, which include all important survey, findings and bring together reports from a number of sources.Length not stated
  10. survey articlesurvey articlesLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review
Authorship

First and corresponding authors should be KoSFA members Model summary

In principle, the first and corresponding authors should be member of the KoSFA for submission and consideration of manuscripts.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest

Conflict of interest disclosure required Model summary

The corresponding author of an article is asked to inform the Editor of the authors' potential conflicts of interest possibly influencing the research or interpretation of data. A potential conflict of interest should be disclosed in the cover letter even when the authors are confident that their judgments have not been influenced in preparing the manuscript. Such conflicts may include financial s…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

IRB approval statement required for human research Model summary

A written statement must be described in the original articles indicating whether or not Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval was obtained or equivalent guidelines followed in accordance with the Helsinki Declaration of 1975 on human experimentation

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Copyright transfer agreement required Model summary

The corresponding author is responsible for signing a copyright transfer agreement on behalf of all authors. This agreement form is sent to the corresponding author when the manuscript is accepted and scheduled for publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double-blind peer review Model summary

Food and Life uses double-blind review, which means the identities of the authors are concealed from the reviewers, and vice versa.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Guhmok
Country or region
Korea, Republic of
Language
Korean, English
ISSN
2714-0865
Latest issue on the website
Volume 2026 (July 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Food and Life

How long does peer review take at Food and Life?

Based on the dates recorded on 24 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 37 days (interquartile range 31–45 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Food and Life?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≥ 3; Reference style: Author–date; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Food and Life based?

Of the 7 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (5), Spain (1) and New Zealand (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Food and Life?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Food and Life is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Food and Life open access, and what is the APC?

Food and Life is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .