Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-History and Philosophy of Science
Finance and Society
ISSN 2059-5999 · University of Edinburgh · United Kingdom
Finance and Society: fully open access; APC about USD 3,450; review about 26 weeks (community reports); 47 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Finance and Society is published by University of Edinburgh. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Housing, Finance, and Neoliberalism, Political Economy and Marxism and Global Financial Regulation and Crises, together about 43.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Economics, Econometrics and Finance. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Finance and Society is an open access journal dedicated to interrogating the central role of finance in contemporary life. The journal operates a rigorous peer-review process, paired with an editorial commitment to publishing ground-breaking theoretical and empirical research into the socio-political foundations and consequences of financial phenomena. Finance and Society publishes three issues per year, combining full-length research articles with a range of other formats intended to focus attention on cutting-edge themes and debates in the field of cross-disciplinary finance studies. It is the official journal of the Finance and Society Network.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-History and Philosophy of Science
Editor-in-chief Amin SammanPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United Kingdom 22, Germany 6, United States 5, Denmark 4, France 3 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Housing, Finance, and NeoliberalismEconomics, Econometrics and Finance26.4%
- Political Economy and MarxismSocial Sciences10.7%
- Global Financial Regulation and CrisesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance6.7%
- FinTech, Crowdfunding, Digital FinanceBusiness, Management and Accounting6%
- Economic Theory and InstitutionsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.8%
- Economic Theory and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.3%
- Digital Transformation in Financial ServicesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.1%
- Art, Politics, and ModernismArts and Humanities2.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| History and Philosophy of Science | Q1 | 43/254 | 83rd |
| Arts and Humanities (miscellaneous) | Q1 | 167/692 | 75th |
| Social Sciences (miscellaneous) | Q2 | 266/744 | 64th |
| Sociology and Political Science | Q2 | 576/1530 | 62nd |
| Finance | Q3 | 192/342 | 44th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.5LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.87LetPub ·
- h-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 49OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.9OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 283 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 30 | 30 | 478 |
| 2025 | 47 | 47 | 470 |
| 2024 | 29 | 29 | 333 |
| 2023 | 32 | 32 | 426 |
| 2022 | 17 | 17 | 348 |
| 2021 | 17 | 17 | 269 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 26 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,450 / GBP 2,320 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-SA, CC BY-ND, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-SA, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,320 / USD 3,450 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- articleArticleLength not stated
- book reviewforum contributions 3-4,000 words, and book reviews 1-2,000 words. Research articles Research articles should present originamain text ≤ 2,000 words
- forumFinance and Society publishes the following types of article: Research article* Research essay* Policy focus* Forum* Review article* Book review**Length not stated
- perspectiveof book titles. They must provide a new perspective or conclusion on the area of research in question and should be 3-4,000 words in length. Book reviews that a…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- policy focusFinance and Society publishes the following types of article: Research article* Research essay* Policy focus* Forum* Review article* Book review**Length not stated
- research articlewaived by the publisher. The length of research articles is normally 9-11,000 words, including endnotes and references. Research essays and polmain text ≤ 11,000 words
- research essayFinance and Society publishes the following types of article: Research article* Research essay* Policy focus* Forum* Review article* Book review**Length not stated
- review articles articles are typically 4-6,000 words, review articles and forum contributions 3-4,000 words, and book reviews 1-2,000 words. Research articles Researchmain text ≤ 4,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
- Peer review
Rigorous peer-review process Model summary
The journal operates a rigorous peer-review process
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- University of Edinburgh
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2059-5999
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Finance and Society
How long does peer review take at Finance and Society?
Authors report an average review time of about 26 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Finance and Society based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (22), Germany (6) and United States (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Finance and Society?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Finance and Society is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Finance and Society open access, and what is the APC?
Finance and Society is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,450.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .